Roahrig Adds to Winning Record in Summer Sizzler

Recently, Tyler Roahrig’s wins in the Outlaw Super Late Model have come in exciting fashion following late-race battles.  Thursday night’s Summer Sizzler was not one of those races.


The reigning Little 500 champion on the Sprint Car side took the lead just after halfway in the 100-lap main event and cruised to his record-extending sixth win in the Outlaw Super Late Model crown jewel.

Tyler Roahrig scored his sixth career win in the Summer Sizzler Thursday night at New Paris Speedway.

Once again, Roahrig was able to use the high side like nobody else could, using it to get himself to the front of the field.   Once he took the lead nobody was catching him – he would win the race by over ten seconds and pocket $20,000 in the process.


“At the start of the race I didn’t think it was great up there, I thought everyone was still pretty good on the bottom.  It seems like the longer it went the more time I could make up there,” Roahrig told Speed51.  “I almost got myself wrecked twice but it’s just racing hard.


“Once we got to the lead it was just smooth sailing, don’t make any mistakes.  Luckily it went green the rest of the way once I got the lead, which is what you always want as the leader.  I was happy for that.”


Roahrig’s dominance in the event is nearly unmatched in nearly all of short track racing at this point in time.  He has now won the race six times in 13 starts, all of them coming in the last 10 years, even accounting for when he missed the entire 2014 season due to injury.


Meanwhile, only two other drivers have won the race more than once in its 20 years of existence, with both father JR Roahrig and Jeff Ganus having two wins each.


“At one time I never thought I’d get one of them.  Six is pretty cool, there’s been 20 of these and I think I’ve raced in 12 or 13 of them.  I’ve been fortunate, I’m surrounded by great people and a great team.  Hopefully they can keep running this race and we can get some more cars next year and people come and actually support big-paying races.”


With the win and big payday in hand, his attention has already turned to the Kalamazoo Klash on August 18th.  Since 2012, he has either won the Sizzler or Klash every year except when he missed the 2014 season.


However, nobody has ever won both races in the same year.


“I’ve thought about that a lot in years before.  The last six or seven years, I’ve won one of those two races every year I’ve never won both in the same year.  We’ll try that again here in two weeks.”


Jacob Maynard finished second after starting on the pole and leading the most laps.  Former Summer Sizzler winners Bud Perry, JR Roahrig and Jack Landis rounded out the top-five.


-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51 National Correspondent – Twitter: @kgeyer3

-Photo Credit: Speed51 Photo


Summer Sizzler Results:


  1. Tyler Roahrig
  2. Jacob Maynard
  3. Bud Perry
  4. JR Roahrig
  5. Jack Landis
  6. Corey Ryman
  7. Adam Terry
  8. Matt Frazier
  9. Craig Everage
  10. Jaden Cretacci
  11. Donny Klotz
  12. Austin Maynard
  13. Andrew DeVreese
  14. Travis Schlabach
  15. Kevin Sauer
  16. Scott Ross
  17. Bobby Schisler
  18. Shawn Amor
  19. Steve Stacy
  20. Kenny Whitman

Roahrig Adds to Winning Record in Summer Sizzler