Richards Holds Off Thornton’s Rally on ‘Night Before Jackson’

Brownstown, IN – Josh Richards held off a late rally from Ricky Thornton, Jr. to win Friday Night’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned “Night Before the Jackson” event at Brownstown Speedway. Richards, the 2017 LOLMDS National Champion, was the fourth different leader of the race when he took the top spot on lap 14. He held the lead the rest of the way despite Thornton’s furious charge, which saw the two drivers run side-by-side for several circuits. Earl Pearson Jr. crossed the line in third followed by Jonathan Davenport and Zack Dohm.


Devin Moran led four laps and Billy Moyer led three laps early on. Thornton battled with Moran for two laps, until he finally cleared him on lap 9. He then held the top spot until Richards forged ahead with 26 laps to go.


In Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the 31st time in his career, third time this season, he came from the seventh starting spot to get the win. “Coming here in the past, we didn’t really have a good package. I have never ran that well here. We have worked hard on the car the last couple weeks. I have the best team in the business and my guys have been awesome. I didn’t know what to expect early in the night. We worked on the car a little bit. I saw him [Thornton] there with two to go. I really didn’t know where to run. I just didn’t want to break my momentum and we held him off.”


Thornton continues to get closer to winning his first career LOLMDS event. He had a shot at the end of the race but fell a couple of car lengths back of Richards at the finish. “Congrats to Josh! I had a blast out there. You could move around some out there. We have a good hot-rod for tomorrow. I saw the board with 12 or 13 laps to go and I thought if I am going to get up I had better go now. I was able to get back to them and run Josh down. To race as hard as we did and we never touched once. It’s pretty awesome.”


Pearson was pleased with his third place finish. “The track is awful racy right now. We were a little worried at first with all of these cars here tonight. It was a good for us. I got held up by some traffic, but I don’t know if we had anything for the top two. “


The winner’s Clint Bowyer Racing Rocket Chassis is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by iRacing, Big River Steel, DEKALB Seed, Crawford Outdoor, Cometic Gasket, Sunoco Race Fuels, and Integra Shocks.


Completing the top ten were Tyler Erb, Bobby Pierce, Tim McCreadie, Devin Moran, and Tanner English.


-Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Press Release & Photo

Richards Holds Off Thornton’s Rally on ‘Night Before Jackson’