Results: Top 10 Picks in the 2020 Short Track Draft

The first round of the 2020 Speed51 Short Track Draft took place Thursday night, with the first-ever Short Track Draft Selection Show.  The Short Track Draft shines a spotlight on some of the top prospects in the short track racing world each year, and this year’s crop shows plenty of promise.


The honor of number-one pick went to Sam Mayer, the defending ARCA Menards Series East champion.  Mayer joined Ty Majeski, who announced the selection, as number-one picks from the state of Wisconsin, as well as a prestigious list of top selections.


Hailie Deegan earned the number-two pick, her second consecutive year earning a top-five selection in the Short Track Draft.  Derek Griffith was named the third overall pick, improving from 13th in the 2019 Draft.


Stephen Nasse joined an elite club of drivers who have been selected nine times in the Short Track Draft.  His wins in the U.S. Short Track Nationals and the Winchester 400 catapulted him from 23rd in 2019 to fourth in 2020.


Rounding out the top five was Logan Seavey, the highest dirt racing pick in this year’s Short Track Draft.  Former top-five pick Bobby Pierce also represented the dirt in seventh, with just rising ARCA Menards Series star Ty Gibbs between them in sixth.


CRA SpeedFest winner Corey Heim claimed the eighth pick in the Short Track Draft, with Tyler Courtney and Jake Garcia rounding out the top 10.


A panel of more than 50 industry experts submitted ballots for this year’s Short Track Draft, and the announcement of those results is just getting started.  In all, 100 drivers will be selected in the 2020 Short Track Draft.


On Friday, May 1, picks 11 through 25 will be unveiled.  After a weekend away from the draft floor, selections 26-50 will be announced on Monday, May 4.


That takes us to the second half of the draft, filled with sleepers and rising stars who could be early candidates to make big jumps in the 2021 Short Track Draft.


Picks 51 through 75 will be presented on Tuesday, May 5, with selections 76 through 100 announced on Wednesday, May 6 to close out the 2020 Short Track Draft.


To watch a replay of Thursday’s Short Track Draft Selection Show, click here.


First Round Selections – 2020 Short Track Draft


1Sam Mayer
2Hailie Deegan
3Derek Griffith
4Stephen Nasse
5Logan Seavey
6Ty Gibbs
7Bobby Pierce
8Corey Heim
9Tyler Courtney
10Jake Garcia

Results: Top 10 Picks in the 2020 Short Track Draft