Results: Title Contenders Leading the Way for Richie Evans Memorial

Anthony Nocella and Matt Hirschman have been inseparable for most of the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.  That has not changed going into qualifying for the final night of Tour-type Modified racing at New Smyrna Speedway (FL).


Nocella and Hirschman were the two fastest qualifiers for the Richie Evans Memorial at New Smyrna, with Nocella taking the top spot with a time of 17.228 seconds.  Hirschman clocked in at 17.245 seconds, just 0.017 seconds slower than Nocella.


That places the two heavyweights from the World Series alongside each other going into the marquee race of the week.  Not only will they be battling for a win in the prestigious 100-lap race, but they are separated by six markers in the World Series points chase.


Hirschman holds the advantage in that points battle, as well as experience at New Smyrna with the 2018 World Series championship and three prior wins in the Richie Evans Memorial. However, Nocella holds the upper hand in trips to victory lane this week, beating Hirschman in a pair of side-by-side finishes during the first three nights of racing.


With just a two-car invert, Hirschman will start on the pole for the event, with Nocella alongside him on the front row.


Race fans can visit Speed51’s Trackside Now coverage, presented by FK Rod Ends, for updates from the Richie Evans Memorial and the rest of Friday’s racing action.


Fans can also visit Speedweeks Central for all of the latest news, updates, videos and more from Florida Speedweeks.


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51 Content Supervisor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: Speed51 Photo


Richie Evans Memorial Qualifying Results


Pos. # Driver Fast Lap
1 92 Anthony Nocella 17.228
2 60 Matt Hirschman 17.245
3 46 Craig Lutz 17.386
4 07 Patrick Emerling 17.436
5 32 Tyler Rypkema 17.470
6 36 David Sapienza 17.504
7 21 Jimmy Blewett 17.547
8 83 Mike Willis, Jr. 17.550
9 58 Eric Goodale 17.584
10 17 Tommy Catalano 17.614
11 16 Anthony Sesely 17.629
12 22 Eddie McCarthy 17.681
13 2 J.R. Bertuccio 17.689
14 45 Brett Meservey 17.859
15 64 Timmy Catalano 17.944
16 33 Ricky Moxley 18.067
17 4 Jeffrey Gallup 18.119
18 21G Jim Gavek 18.141
19 7 Rich Parker 18.838

Results: Title Contenders Leading the Way for Richie Evans Memorial