The final race of the 2014 Gresham Motorsports Park proved two things – winning can be contagious, and it’s never to late to visit Victory Lane.

Saturday’s Fan and Sponsor Appreciation Night event saw Matt Vassar, Gary Zajdek and Zach Leonhardi continue their winning ways while Russell Shore’s quest to visit Victory Lane finally hit its mark.

Vassar’s dominance of the GMP Pro Truck ranks continued as he piloted his orange and black No. 69 Chevy Silverado to a win in the 30-lap division headliner on the GMP half-mile oval. It was Vassar’s seventh Truck Division victory of the season – not only the most in that division – but the most in any GMP class in 2014.

Jami Weimer capped an improving season as she posted her second-straight runner-up finish in the Truck Series main. Rodney Benefield was a strong third while Cody Haskins and Kevin Vassar staged one of the best battles of the evening – a multi-lap side-by-side affair – with Haskins eventually coming home fourth with Vassar a close fifth.

Meanwhile, Zajdek wheeled his Honda Prelude to GMP season win No. 5 Saturday. Zajdek started slowly but eventually caught leader David Pope with a handful of laps remaining in the Front Wheel Drive main event on the GMP quarter-mile track.

Some hard racing and clean contact between the two drivers eventually decided the affair with Zajdek getting the best of it and a $400 first-place prize for his efforts. Pope settled for the runner-up spot with Brian Sutton in tow for third.

Leonhardi made it a clean sweep of the three Legends programs at GMP this season rolling to a convincing win in that division’s 20-lap main event on the GMP quarter-mile track. The talented teenager had to survive a final green, white, checkered flag restart sprinting away to the victory over Cory Parham, Rex Brown, Brandon Brock and Justin Ashley.

Meanwhile, Shore finally broke out of a string of second- and third-place finishes to win his first Outlaw Late Model victory of the season.

Shore grabbed the lead early in the 30-lap Outlaw main on the GMP half-mile before Lee Langford mounted a serious challenge for the top spot midway through the event.

Langford, who has dominated Victory Lane in the Outlaw division in recent weeks, saw his chances of another win go up in a cloud of smoke when he spun off Turn 4 while battling Shore for the lead. That opened the door for Shore to motor on to his first Outlaw win of the year in front of David Murphy, Mike Silvey and Langford.

In what proved to be one of the more entertaining events of the evening, Joe Wilder made his first visit to GMP this season a profitable one roaring to a win in the Sportsman Division feature.

The rock ’em, sock ’em affair was spiced by several caution flags as the competitors pin balled their way around the GMP quarter-mile. In the end, Wilder proved to be the class of the field taking the checkered flag first with Jackie Daniel, Michael Mobley, Cody Richards and Brian Sosebee completing the top-5 finishers.

Ashton Winger closed out the list of winners as he blasted his way to victory in the Bandolero Division main event. Clay Thompson was second overall and was the top finishing Bandolero Bandit driver in the contest.

All the wins came in front of an appreciative crowd that was admitted free of charge as part of a Fan And Sponsor Appreciation Night Saturday at the Jefferson, GA racing facility.

As mentioned, Saturday’s Fan and Sponsor Appreciation Night marked the end of the 2014 racing season at Gresham Motorsports Park. Hundreds of prizes and give-away items were distributed to the crowd including several premium prizes and cash gift cards presented by valued GMP partners Leon Farmer Company of Athens, Papa Johns of Jefferson and Commerce, and Bell’s Food Stores of Jefferson, Athens and Watkinsville, and Coca-Cola of Athens.

GMP would like to take this opportunity to thank all the competitors, fans and sponsors for a successful 2014 season.

You can stay connected with GMP throughout the off-season at or on Facebook at Gresham Motorsports Park.

You can also follow GMP on Twitter at GreshamMP.

Saturday, September 20

Fan and Sponsor Appreciation Night

Stockerama Official Results


Bandit Bandoleros – 20 Laps

1. Clay Thompson

2. Connor Younginer

3. Nathan Jackson

4. Lawson Ingold


Outlaw Bandoleros – 20 Laps

1. Ashton Winger

2. Nick Mac Millan


Legends – 25 Laps

1. Zach Leonhardi   (Young Lions)

2. Cory Parham (Semi Pro)

3. Rex Brown (Pro)

4. Brandon Brock (Semi Pro)

5. Justin Ashley (Pro)

6. Don Manes (Masters)

7. Mirando Meredith (Semi-Pro)


Sportsman – 25 Laps

1. Joe Wilder

2. Jackie Daniel

3. Michael Mobley

4. Cody Richards

5. Brian Sosebee

6. Kevin Little

7. Rob Hubbard


Renegades – 25 Laps

1. Mike Childers

2. Bryan Beckner

3. Dave Beckner


FWD’s – 25 Laps

1. Gary Zajdek

2. David Pope

3. Brian Sutton


Trucks  – 30 Laps

1. Matt Vassar

2. Jami Weimer

3. Rodney Benefield

4. Cody Haskins

5. Kevin Vassar

6. Ronnie Weihunt

7. Dawson Gay


Outlaw Late Models – 30 Laps

1. Russell Shore

2. David Murphy

3. Michael Silvey

4. Lee Langford

Repeat & First Time Winners Cap off Season at Gresham