BELLEVILLE, Ill. – Mike Harrison, the reigning and four-time DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals champion, found victory lane for the first time in 2016 at Belle-Clair Speedway on Wednesday night.

Harrison, who started on the outside front row with Nate Zimmer on the pole, powered to the lead and then claimed victory over Nick Hoffman, the current series points leader.

Ray Walsh finished third, Paul Bailey fourth and Brian Bielong in fifth.

With Harrison, of Highland, Ill., returning to victory lane, this could signal the opening shots of an epic championship battle down the stretch between he and Hoffman, who has been red hot so far this year with three wins.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals returns to action on Friday at Fayette County Speedway in Brownstown, Ill.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at or on Facebook at Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at and

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Belle-Clair Speedway; Belleville, Ill.

A Main: 1. Mike Harrison (Highland, IL), 2. Nick Hoffman (Mooresville, NC), 3. Ray Walsh (St Louis, MO), 4. Paul Bailey (Pocahontas, IL), 5. Brian Bielong (Summerfield, IL), 6. Kenny Wallace (Concord, NC), 7. Bobby Bittle (New Athens, IL), 8. Dean Hoffman (Troy, IL), 9. Rodney Standerfer (Germantown, IL), 10. Timmy Hill (House Springs, MO), 11. Shon Flanary (Church Hill, TN), 12. Danny Ems (Barnhart, MO), 13. Chris Smith (Highland, IL), 14. Jordan Bauer (Highland, IL), 15. Phil Dixon (Crosby, TX), 16. Ray Bollinger (Kewanee, IL), 17. Lucas Lee (Paris, TN), 18. Aaron Draege (Vandalia, IL), 19. Jacob Steinkoenig (Highland, IL), 20. Nate Zimmer (Mattoon, IL), 21. Brett Korves (Swansea, IL), 22. Tyler Deibert (Highland, IL). Hard Charger: Chris Smith.

-DIRTcar Press Release.  Photo Credit: DIRTcar Summer Nationals Twitter

Reigning Modified Hell Tour Champ Finds Victory Lane for First Time