WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. ~ Steven Reed was dominate in winning the 65-lap Downs Ford Modified feature race on Saturday night as Wall Stadium Speedway celebrated the 65th anniversary of the original opening event in 1950. The Jackson speedster grabbed his second win of the season and the 22nd of his career.


            An invert put brothers-in-law Reed and Freehold’s Chas Okerson on the front row of the 19-car field. The duo raced side-by-side at the outset before Reed settled into the top spot. Just one caution slowed the event on lap 19 and Reed handled the top spot all the way to the checker flag. Okerson was second while Howell’s Eric Mauriello, Brick’s Shawna Ingraham and Derek Hopkinson of Toms River advanced to third through fifth.


            “A lot of great drivers have won here over the years so this is pretty special to win here tonight,” Reed said. “My dad has won here and I’ve spent my entire life at this track. Besides, every win is very special.”


            Howell’s Kevin Davison won the companion 65-lapper for the Snap-on Sportsman cars taking the lead near the halfway point when early front-runners Shanon Mongeau of Manchester and Holmdel’s Andrew Krause tangled. Davison then paced the field the rest of the way with Wall’s Robert Silver, Mongeau, Brick’s Robert Sutphin and Larry Thompson of Parlin completing the top five.


            Joey Helberg of Union was dominant in winning the 65-lap race for the O’Shea’s Auto Repair Factory Stocks. Scott Riggleman of Manchester, Brick’s Joe Mongeau, Marty Van Druten of Toms River and Wall’s Tim O’Shea were second through fifth.


            Kevin Nowak of Medford, N.Y. took top honors in the 25-lapper for the Green Flag Driving Experience Legend Cars. Mitchell Dowd was the runner-up while Wall’s Robert French was third. Vinnie Troia and Steve Minghenelli wrapped up the top five.


            Brick’s Ronnie Mullen held off constant attacks by Alonzo Morales of Burlington to win the 25-lap race for the Green Monster Insulation 4 Cylinder Stocks. Jason Lane of Brick was third with Howell’s Darren Burdge and Wall’s Brien Crosby fourth and fifth.


            John Vullo crossed the finish line first in the 35-lap race for the Elite maintenance Limited Late Models but when his car failed post race inspection Brian Doyle of Ronkonkoma, N.Y. was awarded the win. Anthony Crimaldi of Port Monmouth, Wall’s Cole Ormsbee, Bill Vanderveen of Beachwood and Glen Conk of Jackson were second through fifth.


Wall Stadium returns to action this Saturday (June 6) with four divisions competing in five main events. The Modifieds are set for a 40-lapper, while the Sportsman cars battle in a 30-lap feature. The 4 Cylinder Cars are slated to go in Twin 25’s while the Legend Cars are also set for 25-laps. A special Over 40 Legends Race is also on the agenda. Fans will also be treated to special giveaways during the evening. With spectator seating opening at 5:00 p.m. qualifying is set for 6:00 p.m. followed by main events.


Wall Stadium presents professional motorsports events on Saturdays and Sundays through September with special post-season races in October and November. The speedway is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, N.J., just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400, while [email protected] is the track’s email address. More information is also available at www.wallspeedwayracing.com.

-Wall Stadium Speedway Press Release.  Photo Credit: Pete MacDonald photo 

MODIFIED FEATURE  – 65 Laps – 1. STEVEN REED, JACKSON, 2. Chas Okerson, 3. Eric Mauriello, 4. Shawna Ingraham, 5. Derek Hopkinson, 6. Shaun Carrig, 7. Zack Alspach, 8. Ken Matlach, 9. Andrew Krause, 10. Ron Frees, 11. Jonathan Mandato, 12. Jason Treat, 13. Justin Gumley, 14. Jason Hearne, 15. Chad Churilla, 16. Trevor Alspach, 17. Shanon Mongeau, 18. Glenn Slocum, 19. Kevin Davison


SPORTSMAN FEATURE – 65 Laps – 1. KEVIN DAVISON, HOWELL, Rob Silver, 3. Shanon Mongeau, 4. Robert Sutphin, 5. Larry Thompson, 6. Andrew Krause, 7. Jason Caruso, 8. Scott Brannick, 9. Chris Lane, 10. Matt Langbein, 11. Ricky Collins, 12. Dave Bailey, 13. Jarret DeGiantomasso, 14. Tyler Truex, 15. Joe Cocca, 16. Robby Walton, 17. Kenny Van Wickle, DQ Dom Fattaruso


FACTORY STOCK FEATURE – 65 Laps – 1. JOEY HELBERG, UNION, 2. Scott Riggleman, 3. Joe Mongeau, 4. Marty Van Druten, 5. Tim O’Shea, 6. Rob Longo, 7. Ronnie Mullen, 8. Steve Worth, 9. Bob Haberstick, 10. Bill Stockert, 11. Chris Felber, 12. Matt Badessa, 13. Tom Rajkowski, 14. Ron Booth, 15. Whitey Miller, 16. Danny Bruer, 17. Jerry Koenig, 18. Josh Matthews


LEGEND CARS FEATURE – 25 Laps – 1. KEVIN NOWAK, MEDFORD, N.Y. – 2. Mitchell Dowd, 3. Robert French, 4. Vinny Troia, 5. Steve Minghenelli, 6. Brian Spencer, 7. Malcolm Campbell, 8. Nick Van Wickle, 9. Chris Gall, 10. James Van Wickle, 11. Peter Bruno, 12. Beth Mac Farlane, 13. Casey Robicheau, 14. Steven Woytysiak


4 CYLINDER STOCK FEATURE– 25 Laps – 1. RONNIE MULLEN, BRICK, 2. Alonzo Morales, 3. Jason lane, 4. Darren Burdge, 5. Brien Crosby, 6. Joe King, Jr., 7. TJ Graves, 8. Mike Lavery, 9. Corey Stockert, 10. John Carpenter, 11. Rob Oliver, 12. Fred Cannock, 13. Ron Lane, Sr., 14. Randy Hart


LIMITED LATE MODEL FEATURE – 35 Laps – 1. BRIAN DOYLE, RONKONKOMA, N.Y., 2. Anthony Crimaldi, 3. Cole Ormsbee, 4. Bill Vanderveen, 5. Glen Conk, 6. Dom Casola, 7. Michelle Moorman, 8. Mike Tillett, 9. Howie Conk, 10. Greg Miranda, DQ John Vullo

Reed Celebrates Wall’s 65th Anniversary In Victory Lane