Ranking the Top 10 Drivers in Oxford 250 History

This weekend, Oxford Plains Speedway plays host to the 47th Annual Oxford 250.   This prestigious crown jewel event of the Northeast brings a star-studded field each and every year, battling for the honors of Oxford 250 champion.




Over the 46 prior runnings of this race, some of the greatest drivers of the Northeast have competed in the Oxford 250.  Here is a list of the Top 10 drivers in the history of the Oxford 250.


10 – Dick McCabe – Despite only one win, the veteran Maine driver had five runs in the top five at the Oxford 250.  McCabe’s victory came in 1988, ahead of Kelly Moore and Randy LaJoie.


9 – Jamie Aube – Aube won the Oxford 250 twice in a three-year span (1987 and 1989) and had four top-10 runs in a five-year stretch during the 1980s.  Between 1986 and 1990, Aube’s average finish in the race was 5.6.


8 – Eddie MacDonald – It’s safe to say that Eddie MacDonald owned the Oxford 250 in the ACT Late Model era.  During a five-year span, he won twice (2009 and 2010), added another fourth-place finish and led 278 laps.  He finished on the lead lap every year between 2008 and 2012.  MacDonald also sat on the pole in 2015 to add to his legacy at OPS.


7 – Chuck Bown – Bown was a terror for the Oxford regulars when the event was a Busch Series/Busch North combo show in the late 80ss and early 90s.  He won twice and led over 400 laps.  He was fourth in 1985 and a winner in 1986.  His second win came in 1990 when he led a record 255 laps in one race. That total will never be beaten, as they don’t score caution laps anymore.  In all, he had five top 10’s at the 250.


6 – Geoff Bodine – In five short years, Geoff Bodine made his legacy at Oxford, becoming the first back-to-back 250 winner (1980 and 1981) and a total of four top-10 runs.  Bodine led over 260 laps at the 250.


5 – Ben Rowe – With two wins in 22 starts, Ben Rowe has already made a career at the Oxford 250.  In all, he has four podium runs and 11 top-10 finishes.  Don’t expect him to be done as he’s had a few strong runs the past few years.


4 – Travis Benjamin – In just 10 starts Travis Benjamin has gone from an unknown to one of the best drivers in the race’s history. Three wins and a second-place run all in the last seven years is an impressive feat.  He has led the race five times before; if he’s near the front, it could be trouble for everyone again in 2020.


3 – Dave Dion – The first driver to win the race in three decades also started from the top spot twice.  Dion had five podium runs and 18 top 10 finishes in 26 starts to go along with his wins in 1975, 1985 and 1992.


2 – Mike Rowe – Rowe also has won the race in three different decades (1984, 1997, 2005) and will be looking for start number 38 this year.  He has five career podiums and 11 top five runs in the 250.  His best performance was his win from the last chance race in 2005, a feat that had never been accomplished.


1 – Ralph Nason – The only driver to win it three-straight years, Racin’ Ralph Nason.  It was three years of dominance from 1998 to 2000, but if you look in the record books it was even more then that as he led over 800 laps in his career at the 250. In 18 starts, he had nine top-five runs, but his stretch run of wins kept him as the best driver of his era.


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51 Photo

Ranking the Top 10 Drivers in Oxford 250 History