Elm City, NC – At County Line Raceway on a cool March night it was “The Rocket” Derrick Ramey earning his first win in the Southeast Dirt Modified Series and a $2,000 payday. Ramey would battle for all 30 laps with Taylor Cook along with holding off a mid race charge by Kyle Strickler and Chris Parker.

The night started with 20 Southeast Dirt Modifieds signing in for just the 3rd points paying event of the 2016 season. In PFC Brakes pole qualifying it was Cook who would record the quickest time around County Line Raceway with a 15.985 second lap, Ramey would qualify 2nd quickest followed by Chris Arnold, Shawn Beasley and Billy Workman Jr.

In the two 8-lap heat races it would be Cook & Ramey scoring respective wins to help set the lineup for the 30 lap feature to follow.

Off the start Ramey would rocket to the top position with Cook following closely behind and challenging for the lead early and often. The 30 lap feature would be slowed by seven cautions, making for a lot of exciting restarts with the field bunched up. As the race reached its mid point with Ramey continuing to lead big players began to move toward the front as both Kyle Strickler and Chris Parker worked into the top 4 but those two would get collected in a wreck on lap 21. Despite the repeated restarts Ramey would not relinquish the lead and would go on to earn his first series win. Cook would follow in a close 2nd, Billy Workman Jr would bring home a 3rd place finish, Austin Holcombe and Ryan Ayers would round out the top 5.

POINTS: With a 2nd place finish Taylor Cook has taken the lead in the Southeast Dirt Modified Series points standings with 211 championship points total to-date. With the win Derrick Ramey now is 2nd in the points standings just three points behind Cook. Former points leader Kyle Strickler slipped to 3rd in the standings (-11) behind Cook and Ramey. Chris Arnold (-37) and Austin Holcombe (-56) round out the top 5 in points.

UP NEXT: The next race for the Southeast Dirt Modified Series will be Saturday, April 2nd at Friendship Motor Speedway in Elkin, NC for a $2,000 to win $200 to start main event. For more information on Friendship Motor Speedway visit friendshipspeedwaync.com

For more information on the Southeast Dirt Modified Series be sure to visit www.SouthEastDirtModifiedSeries.com, Follow us on Twitter & Instagram at @SEDirtModSeries.
Partners of the Southeast Dirt Modified Series include Octane Race Products, Erwin Racing Supply, Flag To Flag, Hoosier Racing Tire, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Speedway BBQ, Hornaday Race Cars, Terror Chassis, Battenbilt Racing Engines, Prime Electrical Solutions & Dave Poske’s Performance Parts.

FEATURE RESULTS (30 Laps) – Derrick Ramey, Taylor Cook, Billy Workman Jr, Austin Holcombe, Ryan Ayers, Carlos Jaramillo, Ryan Toole, Shawn Beasley, Eric Bentley, Matt Taghon, Greg Brown, Kyle Strickler, Chris Parker, Chris Arnold, Clay Parker, Jordan Taylor, Matt Quade, Daniel Parker, David Taylor, Mack Coxe

HEAT RACE #1 (8 laps) – Taylor Cook, Chris Arnold, Kyle Strickler, Billy Workman Jr, Ryan Toole, Carlos Jaramillo, Jordan Taylor, Matt Quade, Clay Parker, Matt Taghon.

HEAT RACE #2 (8 laps) – Derrick Ramey, Shawn Beasley, Chris Parker, Austin Holcombe, Eric Bentley, Ryan Ayers, Daniel Parker, Greg Brown, David Taylor, Mack Coxe

PFC Brakes Quick Time – Taylor Cook 15.985

Fayetteville Motor Speedway Hard Luck – Chris Parker

-SEDMS Press Release.  Photo Credit: SEDMS

Ramey Scores First SEDMS Win at County Line