– To date 55 different drivers have registered in the 2016 Ferris Mowers Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series fueled by Sunoco point standings. Patrick Emerling of Orchard Park, N.Y., currently leads those standings by 78-points over Chuck Hossfeld or Ransomville, N.Y. Things can change quickly in the standings with 5 bonus points for posting the fastest overall time in group time trials and 15 bonus points offered for a qualifying race win. Qualifying races pay points to the top three positions 15, 5, 3.

– In the Series first eight races, five different drivers have won races. Eric Beers, Northampton, Pa.; Mike Leaty, Williamson, N.Y.; Chuck Hossfeld, Ransomville, N.Y.; Patrick Emerling, Orchard Park, N.Y., Will Thomas of Sharpsville, Pa., giving fans the most surprising win of the season to date at Lake Erie Speedway in Northeast, Pa.

– To win at Lake Erie Speedway, Thomas, ironically had to pass Patrick Emerling, who has won four of the eight races this season. His average finish in his last 7 series starts has been 2nd.

– Final Tally I: In honor of their late Father Bill Colton, the Colton Family posted several bonus awards through their businesses, Colton RV and Troyer Race Cars, for the June 30, Ol’ Boy Cup ‘60’ at Lancaster National Speedway. Their bonuses totaled an additional $4,000 in cash and certificates. For winning Patrick Emerling picked up an additional $600 in cash and a $600 certificate to Troyer Race Cars making his win worth a total of $4,000 for 60-laps. The remainder of the prizes were awarded as follows: Rusty Smith ($400 Troyer Certificate); Mike Leaty ($400 cash); Ted Christopher ($400 cash); Patrick Emerling ($200 Troyer Certificate); Tyler Rypkema ($200 Troyer Certificate); Chuck Hossfeld ($200 cash); Jimmy Zacharias ($200 Troyer Certificate); Amy Catalano ($400 Troyer Certificates); Jeff Hamman ($200 cash); Cam Barber ($200 cash).

– Final Tally II: Rob Laskowski raised $2,532 in Bonus Lap Money for the June 30, Ol’ Boy Cup ‘60’ at Lancaster National Speedway, that went to several teams with the following break down; Tommy Catalano ($50); Daryl Lewis, Jr. ($100); Amy Catalano ($100); Daren Scherer ($100); Kevin Timmerman ($138); Rusty Smith ($75); Patrick Emerling ($175, including $100 lap leader bonus); Calvin Carroll ($75); Sam Fullone ($150); Ted Christopher ($94); Alan Bookmiller ($225, including non redraw bonus); Cam Barber ($75); TJ Zacharias ($250 including non redraw bonus); Mike Leaty ($25); Bryan Sherwood ($50); George Skora, III ($25); Andy Jankowiak ($50); Chuck Hossfeld ($50); Donny Hartzell ($25); Lee Sharpsteen ($25); Chris Risdale ($125, including Hard Luck Award); Jimmy Zacharias ($50); Jeff Hamman ($275, including non redraw bonus); Tyler Rypkema ($200, including Hard Charger bonus); Karl Hehr ($50).

– Both Tyler Rypkema and Bryan Sherwood have had remarkably consistent seasons. Rypkema and Sherwood come from racing families. Rypkema’s Father Dean and his sister Makayla have both raced, while Sherwood’s Father Lee is multiple time Shangri-La Speedway / Tioga Motorsports Park champion and his Grandmother Betty heads up the Spalding Foundation for Injured Drivers. Rypkema is currently 5th in the standings while Sherwood is 6th.

– Young driver Calvin Carroll of Andover, N.J. continues to improve. He posted his best finish of the season with a 14th in the series most recent race at Holland International Speedway.

– Speaking of Holland International Speedway, the first date of the 2017 schedule has been announced and it is July 15 at Holland International Speedway.

– “Mr. Quick Time” – Chuck Hossfeld leads all drivers with overall fast times posted during the group time trial sessions. Hossfeld has achieved this mark six times.

– By the numbers: To date this season, 17 different drivers have earned a top-five finish in the first 8 races with 33 drivers having earned a top-ten.

– The countdown to the 66th Annual Race of Champions at Oswego (N.Y.) Speedway on Saturday, September 17 is on. The additional 50-laps added for this season, making the race 250-laps will present new strategic challenges to teams. Interestingly, very few competitors that currently compete in the Series had the opportunity to compete when the race distance was 250-laps, which dated back to its days on the 3/4-mile at Pocono (Pa.) Raceway. Tickets are available by calling the Oswego Speedway ticket office at 315-342-0646.

– Making Laps – The Race of Champions 250 Lap Sponsorship program is being spearheaded by Betty Sherwood and the Spalding Foundation for Injured Drivers, Inc. for the 66th Annual Race of Champions.

– The next event for the series is the second event and final visit for 2016 to the Spencer Speedway in Williamson, N.Y. The Flower City 75. Mike Leaty captured the series June visit at Spencer in exciting fashion, utilizing the outside groove to pass the top-three cars to take the lead and eventually win the race.

-RoC Modified Press Release.  Photo Credit: Speed51.com/Mojo Photos

Race of Champions Modified Tour News and Notes