Myrtle Beach, SC — It wasn’t easy but Lee Pulliam remained undefeated at Myrtle Beach Speedway with another sweep of twin feature races for the Late Model division. Joe Armakovitch had a spirited battle with Randall Roberts for the second race in a row in the Charger division but managed to hold him off for a second consecutive victory. In Mini-Stocks it was Willie Fulford holding off his brother Adam and Mark Evans to grab his third straight win. The Palmetto Vintage Racing Association saw Wade Skipper, Willie Grainger and Bob Heakman claim triumphs.

The first of the twin 40-lapLate Model features saw Pulliam start on the pole with Tommy Lemons Jr. to his outside. Lemons grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag and led for three laps before Sam Yarbrough swept to his outside in turns one and two and completed the pass in turn four to snare the top spot. On lap 15, Pulliam pulled around Lemons on the front straight to move into the second position and set his sites on the leader Yarbrough. As the race worked through the crossed flags of halfway Pulliam pulled alongside Yarbrough multiple times but was never able to make the pass. In the closing stages, Pulliam again made charges but each time was either rebuffed or came up on lapped traffic and had to pull back into line. Coming through turns three and four on the final lap the leaders ran up on a lapped car and Pulliam had to move up into Yarbrough as they came to the line. Minor contact ensued but both drivers raced to the line with Pulliam taking the checkered flag for the fifth consecutive time in 2017. Yarbrough came home second by less than six inches. Tommy Lemons Jr. cruised home in third ahead of Matt Cox and Justin Milliken.

In the vintage race, Grainger put a valiant effort at the drop of the green but the Modifieds are just too stout for the fendered cars. Bob in the No. 88 modified stormed to the lead and dominated the rest of the race. Tim Clemson put up a battle for some time but ended up making contact with the outside front stretch wall and ending his night. On the restart Skipper took a run at the No. 88 but was unable to compete the pass. After a second caution the No. 88 was cruising when he came up onto the back of Heakman going into turn one. Heakman did not see him coming, came down for his normal turn entry and took out the leader. The race was then called for time. Skipper, Grainger and Heakman took home the trophies.

The Grand Strand Pick ‘n’ Pull Mini-Stocks were up next with the Fulford Brothers, Willie and Adam starting on the front row. Willie took the lead at the drop of the green and never looked back. Mark Evans worked his way into second place at the beginning of the race. As he fought to hold off Adam Fulford, Evans made contact with the outside frontstretch wall and slid down through the infield. After the restart Adam Fulford took a shot at Willie but could not get past him. Evans rebounded to the third position but that was it for him. At the checkered flag it was Willie Fulford ahead of Adam, Evans, Gary Fulford and Dub Fulford.

It was another barn burner in the Island Pools and Spas Charger race Saturday night. Armakovitch was on the pole again this week and took the lead at the drop of the green. Randall Roberts started shotgun on the field thanks to some difficulties in qualifying but rapidly charged through the field to get to the bumper of the No. 27 of Armakovitch. It took 14 laps but Roberts caught the leader and put the pressure on for the remainder of the race. Unfortunately for Roberts he was unable to get past the leader and came home second for consecutive races. Kevin Barnhill came home in the third position ahead of Tommy Hutson and Tommy Poole.

The final race of the night was the second feature for the Late Models and the final race of round one o of Daytona 1 Beach Madness. The field was inverted for the top ten positions so Pulliam, the winner of the first race, started in the tenth position. Ryan Glenski started on the pole with Lucas Williams to his outside. Glenski led with Ty Gibbs in tow until lap three. As the field went through turns one and two, Jeremy McDowell was faster through the center of the corner, made slight contact with Gibbs and the young driver went for a loop in turn two. Williams spun and made contact with Gibbs while Thad Moffitt and Chris Throckmorton were caught up in the melee as well. It had disastrous consequences for Moffitt and Throckmorton as both drivers were eliminated from the Daytona 1 Beach Madness grid thanks to their poor finishes in this race. The race went back to green and Tommy Lemons Jr. took the lead away from Glenski while Pulliam had already worked his way to the fifth position. By lap seven, Pulliam went around the outside of Lemons and took over the race. He dominated from there to the end with a battle behind him for who would end up as the first loser. Yarbrough battled throughout the race to make his way to the second position. Milliken came home in third, Colby Howard crossed the line in fourth while Lemons hung on for the final spot in the top 5.

The next race will be May 6th when Whelen Public Safety night takes to the historic half mile of Myrtle Beach Speedway.

-Myrtle Beach Speedway Press Release

-Photo Credit: Myrtle Beach Speedway


Late Models Race #1

  1. Lee Pulliam

  2. Sam Yarbrough

  3. Tommy Lemons Jr.

  4. Matt Cox

  5. Justin Milliken

  6. Jeremy McDowell

  7. Brian Vause

  8. Ty Gibbs

  9. Lucas Williams

  10. Ryan Glenski

  11. Jamie Weatherford

  12. Colby Howard

  13. Luke Sorrow

  14. Bryant Barnhill

  15. TJ Barron

  16. David Roberts

  17. Mason Diaz

  18. Chris Throckmorton

  19. Ed Williams

  20. Stuart Ricks

  21. Thad Moffitt

  22. Omar Jurado

  23. Robbie Mew

  24. Dal Wright

  25. Mike Darne

  26. Juan Gonzalez

  27. Terry Evans

  28. Sammie Scarpelli

  29. Brooke Schimmel

Late Models Race #2

  1. Lee Pulliam

  2. Sam Yarbrough

  3. Justin Milliken

  4. Colby Howard

  5. Tommy Lemons Jr.

  6. Luke Sorrow

  7. Stuart Ricks

  8. Jamie Weatherford

  9. Bryant Barnhill

  10. Mason Diaz

  11. David Roberts

  12. Ed Williams

  13. Brian Vause

  14. Terry Evans

  15. Brooke Schimmel

  16. Omar Jurado

  17. Robbie Mew

  18. Dal Wright

  19. Matt Cox

  20. Ty Gibbs

  21. Juan Gonzalez

  22. Sam Scarpelli

  23. Ryan Glenski

  24. TJ Barron

  25. Mike Darne

  26. Lucas Williams

  27. Thad Moffitt

  28. Jeremy McDowell

  29. Chris Throckmorton

Pulliam Stays Hot, Sweeping LMSC Twins at Myrtle Beach