DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Tim Brown is no stranger to records.


The nine-time Bowman Gray Stadium champion is on the verge of adding another accomplishment to his already impressive resume this weekend. Last Saturday night, Brown won the first of two scheduled 25-lap features for the track’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Division I, the Brad’s Golf Cars Modified Series. It tied Brown for the all-time record with Junior Miller for Modified division wins at the track with 73.


The .25-mile track in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, has held NASCAR races since 1949 and the Modifieds have historically been the track’s top division.


“My guys have been coming over here every Saturday, practicing and learning this new car and getting it better and better and better,” said Brown. “So my hat’s off to my guys for working late. We were working on it late last night and all day today.”


Brown, who works full-time at Michael Waltrip Racing, was collected in an accident in the second feature keeping him from breaking the record.


The Rural Hall, North Carolina, driver will get two chances this week to top Miller’s record as Bowman Gray will feature 100-lap races on Friday and Saturday night, respectively. The race Saturday night will be held in conjunction with the NASCAR Hall of Fame 150 for the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East drivers.


Burt Myers – a six-time track champion at Bowman Gray – leads the point standings at the track, with Dean Ward in second after winning the second 25-lap feature last Saturday.


Ward was able to use his win to move into first-place in the North Carolina state standings with a six-point lead over Matt Piercy who competes weekly at Hickory Motor Speedway.


In the national standings, Lee Pulliam remains atop the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Division I points.


The Semora, North Carolina, driver won the Late Model division feature at Virginia’s South Boston Speedway on Saturday to push his win total to eight in 16 starts.


Pulliam has compiled 436 points competing at South Boston Speedway, Virginia’s Langley Speedway in Hampton, and Motor Mile Speedway in Radford, in addition to Caraway Speedway in Sophia, North Carolina.


David Roberts remains in second place with 339 points with three wins in 18 starts at South Carolina’s trio of Late Model tracks: Greenville Pickens Speedway, Anderson Speedway and Myrtle Beach Speedway.


Kres VanDyke, third just three points behind Roberts, has eight wins so far this year in starts at Tennessee’s Kingsport Speedway and Lonesome Pine Raceway in Coeburn, Virginia.


Connecticut drivers Ryan Preece and 2010 national champion Keith Rocco are fourth and fifth, respectively.


NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Division I drivers are ranked by their best 18 NASCAR points finishes in series-sanctioned events. Drivers receive two points for every car they finish ahead of – up to 18 cars – and three points for a win, with an additional two points available if the driver starts 10th or lower.


Trey Gibson (Anderson and Greenville), Wayne Hale (Kingsport and Lonesome Pine), Josh Berry (South Boston, Greenville, Hickory and Motor Mile), Zeke Shell (Kingsport and Lonesome Pine) and Ronnie McCarty (Kingsport) round out the top 10.


The Whelen All-American Series points season will run through Sunday, Sept. 20.


The top three in the national standings, as well as state and province champions, track champions, top finishers in the Div. II-V and special award winners, will be honored at the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Awards in December.


Established in 1982, the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series is NASCAR’s national championship program for weekly short track auto racing. In all, 58 paved and dirt tracks throughout the United States and Canada participate.


Connecticut-based Whelen Engineering is the series’ title sponsor. Whelen Engineering is a leading manufacturer of automotive, aviation, industrial and emergency vehicle lighting. NASCAR tracks and pace cars across North America are among the many showcases for Whelen products.


-NASCAR Integrated Marketing Communications Press Release. Photo credit:


NASCAR Whelen All-American Series
Division I / Top 25

Pos Driver Track Starts Wins T-5 T-10 Points
1 Lee Pulliam S Boston, Caraway, Langley, Motor Mile 16 8 15 16 436
2 David Roberts Anderson, Myrtle, Greenville 18 3 14 17 339
3 Kres Vandyke Caraway, L Pine, Kingsport 16 8 13 14 336
4 Ryan Preece Riverhead, Thompson, Stafford 12 2 8 12 328
5 Keith Rocco Thompson, Stafford, Waterford 10 3 8 10 325
6 Trey Gibson Anderson, Greenville 16 5 12 12 261
7 Wayne Hale L Pine, Kingsport 14 0 8 14 252
8 Josh Berry S Boston, Greenville, Hickory, Motor Mile 8 3 8 8 241
9 Zeke Shell L Pine, Kingsport 10 1 8 9 241
10 Ronnie Mccarty Kingsport 8 4 7 8 236
11 Matt Bowling S Boston, Motor Mile 10 1 7 10 233
12 Kyle Barnes Kingsport, L Pine 10 0 6 10 226
13 Craig Von Dohren Grandview 7 1 6 6 217
14 Steve Holzkamper(R) Salina, Flint Creek 10 1 5 7 207
15 Bob Root Greenville 11 0 9 11 204
16 Brenden Queen S Boston, Langley 10 0 5 8 204
17 Mark Wertz Langley, S Boston 10 1 5 7 203
18 Greg Edwards Langley 7 3 5 7 199
19 Chad Pendleton Columbus 6 2 6 6 196
20 Zane Smith New Smyrna 7 1 4 7 193
21 Harrison Burton New Smyrna 7 2 5 5 192
22 Ted Christopher Thompson, Waterford, Stafford 10 1 4 6 189
23 Sam Yarbrough Myrtle 6 3 6 6 187
24 Garrett Jones New Smyrna 7 0 4 6 186
25 Donald Hill Columbus 6 1 6 6 185

Pulliam Continues to Set Pace in NWAAS Div. I Standings