The King of America VIII Modified Nationals presented by Summit Racing Equipment happens Thursday, Friday and Saturday, March 15-17, when America’s Best of the Best dirt modified drivers invade the Humboldt Speedway in Humboldt, Kan., for a blockbuster event that will culminate with Saturday’s $10,000-to-win, $1,000-to-start championship race.


Six different drivers have claimed the throne in the first seven installments of the United States Modified Touring Series rown jewel event. Marshalltown, Iowa’s Ryan Gustin won in 2013 and became the first repeat winner in last year’s event. Zack VanderBeek of New Sharon, Iowa, captured the crown in 2016 after a thrilling late-race battle with 2014 race winner Rodney Sanders of Happy, Texas.


Four-time USMTS national champion Jason Hughes of Watts, Okla., was the 2015 champion, Stormy Scott of Las Cruces, N.M., topped the 2012 event and nine-time USMTS titlist Kelly Shryock of Fertile, Iowa, claimed the inaugural King of America crown in 2011.


Thursday will feature a $3,000-to-win national points race in the USMTS Hunt for the Casey’s Cup. On Friday, each driver will compete in three heat races from three different starting positions. Passing points will be combined for all three heats with the top 12 in overall points locked into Saturday’s “A” Main.


The next 12 drivers will be locked into Saturday’s “B” Main, the next 12 into Saturday’s “C” Main and the remainder will run in last-chance races on Saturday.


Saturday will feature an “alphabet soup” of features and last-chance races as drivers try to claw their way into a spot for the $10,000-to-win, $1,000-to-start finale.


New for this year will be a Non-Qualifiers Race for the top 30 drivers unable to transfer out of the qualifying features. All 30 drivers will redraw for starting position. This race will pay $1,000 to win and $1,000 for second. The top two finishers will have the option to keep the money or start the King of America main event which pays $1,000 to start. The Non-Qualifiers Race will pay a minimum $300 to start with a great payout all the way through.


For Friday and Saturday, the entry fee for Modifieds is $250 through March 14. The entry fee is $300 after March 14 or at the track on race day. Thursday’s USMTS Hunt for the Casey’s Cup event has a separate entry fee and form. Entry forms, rules, license applications and more can be found at


The Iron Man Challenge featuring Out-Pace USRA B-Mods will run a complete show of heat races and main events all three days, racing for $600 to win Thursday, $1,500 to win Friday and $1,000 to win Saturday. National points in the Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series will also be up for grabs.


USRA entry forms, rules, license applications and more can be found at


Three-day reserved seats are just $60, and each day comes with a full-color commemorative event ticket. Single-day tickets on Thursday and Friday are $20 each while Saturday’s show is $25. Youth ages 6-12 get in for $5 on Thursday and Friday and $10 on Saturday. Children ages 5 and under are admitted free of charge all three days.


Gates open at 5 p.m. with racing at 7:30 on Thursday and Friday. Saturday’s start times are one hour earlier with the first green flag waving at 6:30.


There will be an open practice for all drivers on Wednesday, March 14, from 6-9 p.m. Admission to the grandstands is free. Pit passes are $20.


Every lap of every race all three days will be broadcast live via pay-per-view at


The Humboldt Speedway is a located 0.1 mile west of US 169 at the Humboldt Exit, then 0.5 mile south, then 0.9 mile east on Georgia Rd. For more information, call (620) 431-2470 or visit


USMTS Modifieds:
1M Curt Myers, Cameron, Wis., H&E Ready Mix/GRT/Sput’s.
2G Troy Girolamo, Williston, N.D., G-Style Transport/Rocket/Baxter.
2X Brady Gerdes, Villard, Minn., Villard Implement/SSR/Sput’s.
4B Cory Bruggeman, Stillwater, Minn., Bruggeman Builders/MBCustoms/Tim’s.
4M Bobby Malchus, Red Oak, Texas, Southwest General Contracting/Rocket/Wells.
4R Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla., Boom Test/Hughes/Cornett.
05 Jake Hartung, Elmwood, Wis., Genesis Racing Shocks/SSR/Scott’s.
5K Kyle Prauner, Norfolk, Neb.,
9D8 Paden Phillips, Chanute, Kan., Phil’s Coins/BillsBuilt/KBS.
10W Ward Imrie, Winnipeg, Man., K4 Equipment/MBCustoms/Millar.
15* Ryan Mikkelson, Jamestown, N.D., Red Headed Rebel Brew/Millenium/ChevPerf.
19 Dustin Sorensen, Rochester, Minn., Action Engineering/MBCustoms/Action.
21x Travis Saurer, Elizabeth, Minn., Red Headed Rebel Brew/MBCustoms/Dakota.
29H Joe Horgdal, Kasson, Minn., Broadway Car Care/Killer/Baier’s.
32 Jesse Young, Warner, S.D., Young Farms/MasterSbilt/Sturdy.
33Z Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, Iowa, Casey’s General Stores/VanderBuilt/Sput’s.
38C Jason Pursley, Hermitage, Mo., Tom Campbell Racing/GRT/Midstate.
20 Trevor Anderson, Watertown, S.D., Dirt Track Supply/Arrow/Victory.
20RT Ricky Thornton Jr., Chandler, Ariz., Certified Inspection Service/Jet/Mullins.
21T Lance Town, Louisburg, Kan., Town Oilfield Service/MBCustoms/Driskell.
23 Logan Robertson, Shamrock, Texas, Shannon Motorsports/MBCustoms/Knowles.
23 Adam Kates, Tonganoxie, Kan., Rivers Edge Scrap Management/VanderBuilt/Speedway.
25P Mike Petersilie, Hoisington, Kan., Team Xtreme/1stClass/Sput’s.
26 Shawn Fletcher, Brainerd, Minn., Fletcher Trucking/SSR/Wagamon.
71 Jim Body, Diamond, Mo., Body’s Truck Repair/Shaw/Yeoman.
71 Jesse Hoskins, Longdale, Okla., Hoskins Construction/Longhorn/Mullins.
75 Terry Phillips, Springfield, Mo., Andy’s Frozen Custard/GRT/Hatfield.
55 Tyler Davis, Haysville, Kan., Chem Wash/Hughes/ChevPerf.
111JR Keith Tourville, Webster, Wis., Player Motorsports/Player/MAS.
174 Ethan Dotson, Bakersfield, Calif., Golden Empire Towing/MBCustoms/ChevPerf.

Out-Pace USRA B-Mods:
02 Cole Denner, New Hampton Iowa, Barnyard BBQ/Smoke/Shaw.
2 Gunnar Watkins, Menomonie Wis., Shelley Watkins RE/MAX Realty/SSR/Tim’s.
7+ Jared Timmerman, Norwalk Iowa, Accu Jet Sewer & Drain/CAM/Timmerman.
20RT Ricky Thornton Jr., Chandler Ariz., Tanner Racing/Jet/ChevPerf.
20T Mike Tanner, Smithville Mo., Tanner Racing/Jet/Yancy’s.
33s Ben Stockton, Kansas City Mo., Tanner Racing/DirtWorks/Yancy’s.
71III Jim Body III, Diamond Mo., TNT Quick Stop//Yeoman.


-USMTS Press Release

Pre-Entry List for USMTS King of America VIII Released