CLIO, MICHIGAN  – It was a night of celebration for the late Sam Faur at Auto City Speedway (MI) on Saturday July 12th.  A stellar field of 38 of the best drivers from the ICAR Top Speed Modified Tour packed the Clio, Michigan speedplant to pay tribute to the man that was very influential to Modified racing in Central Michigan.


One driver, Chad Poole, left the seventh-annual event the happiest after claiming the biggest win of his Modified career.


A final restart on lap 52 saw Poole and Travis Eddy side-by-side, but it was the Springfield, Ohio native who drove away with the victory.


Poole and fellow Ohioan Dave Dobbins would lead the 24-car field to get things started in the 7th Annual Sam Faur Memorial. Poole would power his way to the front and stretched his lead very quickly.


Eddy quickly made his way to sixth place by lap seven and was a showing he was going to be a serious threat to capture the victory. A caution on lap 17 saw Gaylord, MI driver Jordan Pruitt, who was running fifth, go for a spin off turn two. Pruitt would have to restart the race but wouldn’t go away unknown in this one.

The “Madhouse” style restarts would again be beneificial for Eddy, as he picked up two spots at the line and was now sitting in the fourth spot. Just a few laps later, Eddy was in second.
Edon, OH driver Brian Nester would get by Eddy for the second spot on lap 39. Nester would quickly pull away from Eddy and was beginning to set his sights on race leader, Poole. Things got very interesting when Jerry Artuso went for a spin on lap 43.

Poole and Nester broke away from Eddy and would battle for the race lead.  Nester was trying high and low to find a way to get by.  Nester was able to find something on the high side and was able to get along side Poole on lap 47.  Nester was finally able to get to the outside of Poole in turn one. It appeared as if the two made slight contact and sent Nester spinning down the backstretch.


That left Eddy as the chief challenger for Poole down the stretch, but Poole proved to be too tough at Auto City as he took the checkered flag.


Eddy hung on for second, with Tony Basalone, Ken O’Connor and Jordan Pruitt rounding out the top five.


The next event for the ICAR Top Speed Modified Tour will be on Friday, July 18th at Berlin Raceway in Marne, Michigan.


– By Kyle Callahan, Correspondent

Poole Pots $7,000 Top Speed Mod Victory at Auto City