Waterbury, VT – American Canadian Tour staff, officials and teams honored their 2014 ACT Champion Joey Polewarczyk, Jr. from Hudson, NH with the Banquet of Champions at the Doubletree Inn in South Burlington, VT on Saturday, January 15, 2015. The 25-year-old Polewarczyk captured his first career ACT title in his 9th season with the series and pocketed the $10,000 point fund check. He was also honored with the prestigious Don MacTavish Award for his dedication and contribution to stock car racing in the Northeast. Competitors and teams who finished in the top 15 in the 2014 final standings were all recognized, along with several special awards.


Polewarczyk and his father and car owner Joe Polewarczyk, Sr. began competing on the American Canadian Tour in 2006. Considered the youngster of the series, Polewarczyk and his father quickly progressed over the years into big race winners, consistent favorites, and finally veteran Champions. In 2014, they put together arguably the best Championship Season in ACT Late Model history.


The 2014 ACT Champion was also honored with the Don MacTavish Award, which recognizes individuals for their contributions to stock car racing in the Northeast. Polewarczyk is not only a Champion and respectful driver on the track, but his positive attitude and leadership is felt throughout the pit area at any track he visits.


Other special awards of the night included the 2014 ACT Crew Chief of the Year Award, which recognizes the hardworking people behind the scenes of ACT teams. Keith Clark, crew chief of the Jimmy Hebert team, received the 2014 honors. Clark has helped develop Hebert and his team from Rookie of the Year in 2012 into race winning and championship contending caliber. Clark led the Hebert team to second place in the 2014 ACT standings.


Brandon Atkins of Au Sable Forks, NY was honored as the 2014 ACT Rookie of the Year and the Dr. Gordon Nielsen Award winner. Atkins battled amongst one of the biggest rookie classes in recent memory on the ACT Tour and claimed the top honors. The 18-year-old earned the respect of his peers, while gaining invaluable experience on the Tour in 2014. He also received the Nielsen Award as the top rookie across all ACT and Thunder Road divisions.


The teams of the American Canadian Tour can now look ahead to the 2015 season, which will kick off early this year with the special American Racer Challenge at New Smyrna Speedway in New Smyrna, FL on Monday and Tuesday, February 16 and 17, 2015. The regular 2015 season will open with the NH Governor’s Cup 150 at Lee USA Speedway at Lee, NH on Sunday, April 12, 2015. The 2015 ACT season consists of 13 events at 11 tracks across the Northeast and Quebec.


-American-Canadian Tour Press Release. Photo credit: Eric LaFleche/VLF Photos

Polewarczyk Honored as 2014 Champion at ACT Banquet