HAUBSTADT, IN – Bumping and banging was common Sunday night at Tri-State Speedway as Jacob Poel outdueled Zach Fair and Tyler Nicely to claim his fifth DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals victory of season.

Defending champion Mike Harrison captured the pole-position for the 25-lap feature event, with Poel starting to his outside. The two front-row starters remained side-by-side as they battled for the lead on the opening two circuits, with Poel barely edging Harrison to lead both laps.

Harrison secured the top spot exiting turn two on the third lap, sliding right in front of Poel and making contact as he cleared the Michigan native. Harrison controlled the lead for the next 14 laps, keeping his car glued to the bottom of the race track while holding off the high-line running Poel.

Harrison built an early lead and was on his way to his seventh victory of the season, until his car broke entering turn one on lap 17, ending his night early and handing the lead back to Poel.

Zach Fair and a hard-charging Tyler Nicely kept the new leader from easily coasting to his fifth win of the season, as they challenged Poel for the lead in almost every corner. Fair took multiple shots at the leader, coming just short of grabbing the lead, before being bumped out of the way for second by Nicely.

Nicely, after clearing Fair, dove his car to the inside of Poel to challenge for the lead with just two laps to go. The two leaders made contact exiting turn four to take the white-flag as Nicely was just inches from clearing Poel for the lead. Nicely tried everything he could to jar the lead from Poel on the final lap, but the leader was too strong on the outside, leading the races final nine laps to claim the $1,000 checkered flag at Tri-State Speedway.

Fair, Trent Young and Stephen Schnaphf rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Rocky Wilson, Jacob Poel, Stephen Schnaphf and Tyler Nicely.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals joins the DIRTcar Summer Nationals on Tuesday night at Florence Speedway in Union, Ky.

DIRTcar PR – STLRacingPhotos.com photo

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Tri-State Speedway; Haubstadt, Ind.; July 6, 2014;

A-Main (25-laps):1. 82-Jacob Poel ($1,000), 2. 25-Tyler Nicely, 3. 95Z-Zach Fair, 4. 10Y-Trent Young, 5. 21S-Stephen Schnapf, 6. 36-Kenny Wallace, 7. 12H-Grant Hagan, 8. 71X-Dave Beck, 9. 75-Dustin Beck, 10. 88-Paul Miles, 11. 2-Billy Lewis, 12. 7-Mark Lamont, 13. 66-Michael Fox, 14. 37-Everett Bradham, 15. 1B-Larry Anderson, 16. 14-Shawn Cates, 17. 24H-Mike Harrison, 18. 32Z-Nate Zimmer, 19. 3D-Ryan Driemeyer, 20. 37K-Josh Harris, 21. 6B-Dave Baldwin, 22. 81-Mark Cole.


2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Schedule

June 7 Sat Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Tyler Nicely
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Devin Gilpin
June 13 Fri Kankakee Co-Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 15 Sun Off
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Off
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Mike Harrison
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Jacob Poel
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. David Wietholder
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Park Clarksville, Tenn. Mike Harrison
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. Hunter Rasdon
June 27 Fri Paducah Int-Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. Mike Harrison
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Jacob Poel
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Mike Harrison
July 4 Fri Fayette Co-Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Brian Shaw
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Rusty Griffaw
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Jacob Poel
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. $1,000
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. $1,000
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $1,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $1,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co-Speedway Danville, Ill. $1,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue Off
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $1,000
July 17 Thu Brushcreek Motorsports Peebles, Ohio TBA
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $1,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $1,000

Poel Breaking Backs on DIRTcar Summer Modified Nationals Tour