This coming Thursday, July 3, the Main Event Racing Series Super Late Models roll into town for the Downtown Ford 100.  Economy Modifieds, Street Stocks, and Mini Trucks are also scheduled in addition to the gigantic fireworks display.   Racing is set for 8 PM.

At first glance a week ago, officials thought that 20-22 cars would be gracing Midvale Speedway for the 100 lap event.  However, this week, the list keeps getting bigger and bigger with possibilities and a huge show it will be.  Midvale Speedway is always one of the favorite stops for the series, as the drivers, teams and fans get to enjoy all the new amenities that has been put into place over the last few years.  Don’t be surprised if this is the best field of cars that the series will see all year long.

Leading the list of competitors will be the all-time win leader with the series, Rich Rohrer of Canton, Ohio.  Rohrer has claimed three championships and plenty of MERS wins at Midvale, in addition to series victories at Mansfield, Lake Erie, Kil-Kare, Columbus, Lorain County, Toledo, and Dixie.   For Rohrer, it will be his first appearance this year, just finishing updates on his Port City Racecar.

Also making his first start of the season will be Mr. Five Time, Gary Whipkey, of Doylestown, Ohio.  Whipkey, another fan favorite of the series, has won five championships in MERS competition and has collected a few Midvale victories along the way.  Whipkey will be piloting a brand new Howe Chassis for Jeff Taylor Racing.

3-time ARCA CRA Super Series champ and all time series win leader with the top notch series, Scott Hantz, of Angola, Indiana will be looking for his first career Midvale win.  Hantz ran at Midvale in the early 90’s with the Iceman Series and returned last year for the first time since.  He set the track record with a 13.437 and finished fourth in the race.  Hantz currently leads the points and won the most recent race at Dixie.

Scott Baker, of Tallmadge, Ohio, another veteran of the Super Late ranks will be piloting his car on Thursday night as well.  The former Iceman Series front runner and Hooter’s Pro Cup Series competitor will be looking to add to his list of Midvale Main Event victories.

Former Midvale Speedway and Lorain County Speedway Late Model champion, Marcus Malcuit, of Strasburg, Ohio will also be a favorite.  Malcuit has never won a Main Event race at Midvale but won a weekly show earlier this year and has won on the circuit in the past at Barberton and Tri-City.

Tim Ice, of Seville, Ohio, who had a series named after him in the Iceman Series, has also won three Main Event championships and plans to attend.  Ice now competes in Supermodified competition as well as a few Late Model shows here and there.  Ice has been a Midvale victor in the past.

2010 Series champion Jimmy Carter, of Brookpark, Ohio, has had a string of bad mechanical luck plague him in the last year or two but did have a solid finish in Baer Field Speedway Three Rivers 100 a couple of weeks ago.  Carter has claimed a Main Event win at Midvale in recent years.

The race will also feature some very talented local flair.  New Philadelphia, Ohio teenage star Alex Rosenberry will be piloting his white and orange #2 Senneker Chassis in the 100 lap grind.  Rosenberry has a pair of Midvale wins this season and has been very competitive in Main Event competition this year.

2-time Midvale Speedway Late Model champion Bubba Smith, of Canton, Ohio will be making his first Midvale Main Event start.  Smith had a solid run at Angola a few weeks ago and could turn some heads at his home track.

The other teenage driver from New Philadelphia, Ohio that Midvale Speedway fans are excited about is Matthew Mills.  Mills picked up his first career win on Saturday night in the Late Model feature, holding off Bryant Smith, Mike Miller, and Rosenberry.  Mills made his first start with the series at the Sandusky opener and picked up a respectable top ten.

A full field plus is expected for the event, which was won a year ago by Jeff Ganus.  The Constantine, Michigan driver took the lead from Ryan Tedesco in the late stages but will be driving for the Brian Short team this year instead of the Great Lakes Helicopter outfit.

Fans will be treated to one of the best fields of cars at any track in the midwest this summer.  In addition to racing in the Super Late Models, Economy Modifieds, Street Stocks, and Mini Trucks will race.  A huge fireworks display will light the sky around 10 PM.

Grandstand admission is $20 for adults and seniors with kids 6-15 getting in for $10. Pit admission is $30 for members and $35 for non members.

Pit gates will open at 3:00, but Main Event teams are welcome to get there a little early to take the stress off of parking the rigs all at once.  Grandstands will open at 4:00.  Hotlaps for Main Event cars will go from 4:00-4:45 and 6:00-6:30. Economy Modifieds, Street Stocks, and Mini Trucks will have rotating sessions between 4:45 and 6:00. Qualifying is set for 6:30 with group qualifying for Mini Trucks, Street Stocks, and Economy Modifieds followed by single car qualifying for Super Late Models.  Racing action will start at 8:00. Fireworks will be approximately 10:00.

The Main Event qualifying session is sponsored by Ricardo’s Party Center of New Philadelphia with $200 going to the fast time award winner. More info available at

For additional info, check Midvale Speedway out on the web at

Expected Entries

01           Bob Gainer – Stow, OH
07           Ryan McManus – Westfield, OH
2              Alex Rosenberry – New Philadelphia, OH
3              Doug Sommers – Doylestown, OH
4              Justin Schroeder – Canton, MI
4              Scott Baker – Tallmadge, OH
4              Matthew Mills – New Philadelphia, OH
7              Rich Rohrer – Canton, OH
12           Bubba Smith – Canton, OH
18           Jeff Ganus – Constantine, MI
21           Drew Charlson – New Bremen, OH
26           John Flynn – Aurora, OH
28           Jimmy Carter – Brookpark, OH
30           Bryan Clay – Granville, MI
33           Dave Stehouwer – Grand Rapids, MI
33           Jake Francis – Leroy, OH
39           Jeff Taylor – Barberton, OH
57           Joe Fewkes – New Philadelphia, OH
59           Gary Whipkey – Doylestown, OH
65           Tim Ice – Seville, OH
66           John Sandquist – Austintown, OH
71           Harold Fair, Jr. – Milan, MI
72           Scott Hantz – Angola, IN
75           Marcus Malcuit – Strasburg, OH
87           Mike Mazzagatti – Clinton, OH
88           Billy Roberts – Chardon, OH
88           Jamie Hunt – Ashville, OH
99           John Sandquist, Sr. – Austintown, OH

– Midvale Speedway press release.  Photo credit:

Plenty Of Big Names On Midvale Main Event Entry List