BELLEVILLE, Ill. —  Bobby Pierce was one of three different drivers to control the top stop Tuesday night at Belle-Claire Speedway, as he made a daring pass on Shannon Babb with four laps to go to claim the lead and the $5,000 checkered flag, his first of the 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals season.

2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion Brandon Sheppard captured the pole position, with Randy Korte starting on his outside. Bobby Pierce started just behind them in the third position.

On the first lap, Korte would slingshot around Sheppard, keeping the pole-sitter from leading a single lap all night. Korte led the most laps of the night as he controlled the top spot for the first 17 laps of the 40-lap feature. Korte eventually was chased down by a charging Pierce and Shannon Babb, who started the race in the fourth position.

Pierce made his way to the lead but couldn’t pull away from Babb, as he led only seven laps before Babb grabbed the lead on lap 25. Babb looked as if he would capture his third win of the season with ease after securing the top spot and leading the next 11 laps.

Unfortunately for Babb, Pierce had just enough left in his car to surge his way back to the front and challenge the leader for the win. Pierce would not be denied the victory as he caught and passed Babb with a thrilling, go-for-broke slide job on lap 36. Pierce held off Babb for the remaining four laps, capturing the victory at Belle-Claire Speedway.

“When you’re leading the race and then you end up losing it, no matter what you have to do, you wanna get that lead back,” said the 17-year-old Pierce. “I had a couple of good corners right in a row there, I caught Babb, and I knew that [a slider] was the only chance I had.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Brandon Sheppard, Ryan Unzicker, and Randy Korte rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Pierce, Babb, Korte, and Sheppard.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Wednesday night as they join the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Jacksonville Speedway in Jacksonville, Ill.


DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Belle-Claire Speedway; Belleville, Ill;

July 2, 2014; A-Main (40-laps): 1. 32-Bobby Pierce ($5,000), 2. 18-Shannon Babb, 3. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 4. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 5. 0-Randy Korte, 6. 21JR-Billy Moyer Jr, 7. 24T-Matt Taylor, 8. 81-Brian Shirley, 9. 10-Daryn Klein, 10. 6K-Michael Kloos, 11. 1S-Rick Salter, 12. 81JR-Jason Riggs, 13. 16H-Mike Hammerle, 14. 1M-Jim Moon, 15. 28B-John Beck, 16. 27S-Mike Schulte, 17. T4-Adam Tischhauser, 18. 20-Alan Westling, 19. 91-Rusty Schlenk, 20. 25L-Steve Lance Jr, 21. 29W-Brian Divley, 22. 30V-Mark Voigt.

2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Location Win
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co. Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Billy Moyer
June 13 Fri Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. Rick Eckert
June 14 Sat Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. RAIN
June 15 Sun Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, Wis. Rick Eckert(2)
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Farley Speedway Farley, Iowa Shannon Babb
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jason Feger
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Billy Moyer(2)
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Brian Shirley
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. Brandon Sheppard
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. Shannon Babb(2)
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Atwood, Tenn. Brian Shirley(2)
June 27 Fri Paducah Int. Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated Auto Parts Raceway Pevely, Mo. Brian Birkhofer
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Brady Smith
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Bobby Pierce
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. $5,000
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. $5,000
July 4 Fri Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, Ill. $7,500
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. $10,000
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. $5,000
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. $5,000
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. $5,000
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $5,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $10,000
July 12 Sat 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa $10,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, Ill. $5,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue TBA
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $5,000
July 17 Thur Brushcreek Motorsports Complex Peebles, Ohio $5,000
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $5,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $10,000

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), Velocita (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing. 

Pierce Seals the Deal at Belle-Claire for First Hell Tour Win