The second annual Gateway Dirt Nationals are in the books. Dirt Late Model drivers were competing for $30,000 and a chance to put their name in the history books. When all was said and done on Saturday night in St. Louis, Missouri, the “Smooth Operator” Bobby Pierce was the man standing tall with the big check.


300x250 SponsorMePFC18Pierce led every lap with the exception of lap 27 during Saturday’s A-Main, but the win was not as easy as it may appear by looking at the stat line. Pierce had to hold off charges from Tanner English and Tyler Carpenter, as well as work his way through lapped traffic to secure the win.


The win was Pierce’s 15th on the year, and he told that it was one of the biggest wins of his career.


“This is like one of my biggest wins,” Pierce told “I know I won the World (100) and the North-South, but to win in this Dome here… this is an incredible thing for the sport and to go down as the second winner in history, next to Scott Bloomquist, is just really awesome.”


Pierce ran double-duty at the Dome on Saturday night, finishing fifth behind Ray Bollinger, Brent Mullins, Mike Harrison and Tanner Mullens in the 30-lap Modified feature.


-By Rob Blount, Southeast Editor – Twitter: @RobBlount

-Photo credit: Bobby Pierce Facebook


Gateway Dirt Nationals Late Model A-Main Results:

Pos. No. Driver
1 32 Bobby Pierce
2 28 Tyler Carpenter
3 14 Darrell Lanigan
4 29 Jason Welshan
5 0 Scott Bloomquist
6 78 Chad Zobrist
7 18 Shannon Babb
8 4G Bob Gardner
9 5* Hunter Rasdon
10 6T Tim Dohm
11 C8 Timothy Culp
12 11 Gordy Gundaker
13 61 Allen Weisser
14 CJ1 Rusty Schlenk
15 96 Tanner English
16 2 Joey Coulter
17 71 Hudson O’Neal
18 B5 Brandon Sheppard
19 21 Billy Moyer
20 56 Russ King
21 7R Kent Robinson
22 5 Don O’Neal


Gateway Dirt Nationals Modified A-Main Results:

Pos. No. Driver
1 77 Ray Bollinger
2 41m Brent Mullins
3 24H Mike Harrison
4 2x Tanner Mullens
5 32 Bobby Pierce
6 8K Levi Kissinger
7 25 Tyler Nicely
8 0 Tim Hancock
9 25w Allen Weisser
10 23JR Nick Roberts
11 8 Kyle Steffens
12 3L Jeff Leka
13 T6 Tommy Sheppard Jr
14 36 Kenny Wallace
15 18 Jeffrey Ledford
16 10Y Trent Young
17 18c Matt Cooper
18 2 Nick Hoffman
19 55 Chad Sellers
20 9S Tommie Seets Jr
21 96m Mike McKinney
22 12L Lucas Lee

Pierce Operates His Way to $30,000 Victory Inside the Dome