(Flat Rock, MI) – 3-time track champ Paul Pelletier sailed to victory in the 50 lap ARCA Moran Chevrolet Late Model feature on Kevin Butzin Recycling (KBR) Night at Flat Rock Speedway. Jeremy Vanderhoof, Corey Duane and Rich Abel also recorded feature wins and all winners were greeted by Kevin Butzin, owner of KBR in the 7-Up Winner’s Circle.

The speedway also held its annual Racer’s Reunion Night, honoring former racers during intermission. Among those on hand were Bill Wiley Sr., the grandfather of Late Model driver Derek Wiley. Bill competed in the very first race at Flat Rock in 1953!

The 19 car field took the green flag in the Moran Chevrolet Late Model main event, but a lap 1 yellow flag bunched the field for a double-file restart. Paul Pelletier, the fast qualifier at 11:722, moved quickly to the front of the field and stood on the throttle to build a solid lead while the rest of the pack battled for position. It appeared that a long stretch of green flag would continue to the lap 50 finish, but Paul’s margin was erased by a yellow flag on lap 41. The Trenton, MI native went right back to work and pulled away on the restart for the final 9 laps to grab the victory. A great battle between Frank Jiovani and Derek Wiley for second spot saw the duo run side by side for those final 9 circuits, with Frank edging out Wiley for the runner-up finish. Steve Cronenwett Jr. was fourth and Scott Pemberton fifth. Jeff Plumb continued showing improvement in 2014 with a sixth place run, Stan Yee Jr. was seventh and Jim Bailey came from 19th to eighth spot at the stripe. Chris Benson and Jeff Vrsek completed the top ten. Pemberton, Joe Hawes and Derrick Sheppard took the heat race wins. There have been no repeat winners in the 4 races for the division this season.

Action and excitement are just 2 terms that describe the ARCA Praxair Figure 8 show at Flat Rock. Saturday night was no different, as the field continues to put on thrilling entertainment and racing, complete with the near-misses at the intersection lap after lap. Jeremy Vanderoof became the 4th different winner in 4 events at “The Rock”, leading all 20 laps en-route to his first win of the season. Greg Studt, Jeremy Miller and Fastime Racing Engines and Parts fast qualifier Billy Earley (21:177) stayed within striking distance of the leader the entire distance and finished in that order behind the 2-time track champion. Fifth spot went to Robbie Loving, followed by Danny Apperson, Dennis Whisman, Scott Apperson, Race Loving and Ethen Lambert. The father-son duo of Robbie and Race Loving, respectively, captured the heat race wins.

The first repeat winner of 2014 in any class is Corey Duane, who took top honors in the 25 lap ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock feature event. A 20-minute delay stopped the action on lap 9 when Craig Lange had transmission woes, covering the track in oil. When racing resumed, Duane kept the top spot, with Dan Ford Jr. on the charge. Ford Jr., making his first start of 2014, steadily moved up from his 7th starting spot and began to look for the lead with 8 laps to go. Dan tried the high lane, but Duane had enough to take his second win of the year. Ford Jr. settled for second, Landon Schuster was third, Kyle Worley fourth and Arnold Kirsch fifth, followed by Rich Frantz, Rob Randa, Rob Moore, Guy Fire and Steve Searles. Rich Abel grabbed the win in the 15 lap B Main contest over a fast-closing Chris Diovardi. Lonnie York, Don Roberts and Jeffrey Kurzyniec completed the finishing order. Guy Fire topped the 27 car field by setting the Fastime Racing Engines and Parts quick time at 13:678, while Diovardi led the B Main cars at 14:405. Heat race winners were Lange, Randa, Worley and York.

Flat Rock Speedway will host Kid’s Night this Saturday, June 7! All kids to age 14 will be admitted FREE and receive a FREE hot dog, courtesy of Sherwood Foods, Jim’s Butcher Shop and Schwebel Baking Company. The DTS Drive Train Specialists take center stage for their biggest race of the season, the Corrigan Race Fuels 100 lap feature race. The Praxair Figure 8’s will also be in action, and the popular Great Lakes Mini Cup Cars will make a visit to Flat Rock. The TKC Go-Karts will stage exhibition races Saturday night. The pit area will open at 2:30, practice begins at 3:30, time trials are at 5:30, the TKC Go-Kart races will go at 6:30 and racing begins at 7 p.m.

– Flat Rock Speedway Press Release. Photo Credit: Flat Rock Speedway


Pelletier Flies to Flat Rock Win