BRUNSWICK, GA – Earl Pearson Jr.’s 29th career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory may have been one of his most memorable. The popular 4-time LOLMDS National Champion raced in front of his hometown fans and friends collected the win on Friday Night at the Georgia Boot Super Bowl of Racing at Golden Isles Speedway. Pearson reunited with the Dunn-Benson Motorsports team this year. He led the final nine laps of the race to score his first win of 2015 in the Lucas Oil Products Dunn-Benson Ford entry for car-owners Carlton and Kemp Lamm.


Pearson took over top spot from race-leader Ross Bailes, who suffered a flat tire coming off of turn number four with nine laps remaining. Pearson then held off Jared Landers and Scott Bloomquist to take the win. Donald McIntosh had his best career LOLMDS finish with fourth place, followed by Stormy Scott.


“It is great to come back to Golden Isles, which is one of my favorite tracks. To run here in front of all of these people, and then to win it, all I can say is, they saw a heck of a race. Once the five car [Bailes] had that flat, I knew I had a good chance to win.”


“The track crew did a great job on the track today. After all the rain they had Wednesday Night, it was very racy and I think we all put on a good show. I have to thank Dunn-Benson Ford, Lucas Oil Products, Midwest Sheet Metal, Moree’s Enterprises, Sunoco, and Ohlins. This Black Diamond Race Cars by Ronnie Stuckey and Andy Durham Racing Engines combination is going to be really good this year”, stated Pearson.


Jonathan Davenport bolted to the lead early on, but Ross Bailes quickly made it a two-car battle. Bailes pressured Davenport several times, as the ran side-by-side on a few occasions. Davenport officially led the first 36 laps of the race until he ended up on the hook with broken right front suspension. The mishap marked the second straight night that Davenport would leave the race while leading.


Bailes led until lap 42 when he suffered a flat left rear tire. Pearson inherited the lead with Brandon Sheppard and Jared Landers in hot pursuit. On the restart Pearson held off hard-charging Landers for the win with Bloomquist coming in third.


Landers was extremely happy with the performance of his Crop Production Services-sponsored Sweet-Bloomquist car. “I couldn’t be happier with the way we ran tonight. The car was good all night. I kind of messed up on the last restart and lost a few spots. We will try to get the car better for tomorrow night. It is a very good way to start the points off,” stated Landers.


Bloomquist started 13th, and moved into third place near the end of the race and was really happy for Landers. “He did a good job tonight, I wasn’t sure if I was ever going to get into the top five from where we started. After not running the first race last year, we had to play catch-up the rest of the season. I want to thank all of my new sponsors; Reece Monument Company, Mark Martin Automotive, Petroff Towing, and also a big thank you to Ole Smoky Moonshine, Penske Shocks and Hawkeye Trucking.”


Completing the top ten were Chris Madden, Don O’Neal, Kenny Pettyjohn, Jason Papich, and Gregg Satterlee.


In preliminary action, Jonathan Davenport set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group B) amongst the 33 entrants, with a lap of 15.388 seconds. Ross Bailes set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 15.431 seconds. Ross Bailes, Stormy Scott, Jonathan Davenport and Jason Papich won their respective heat races. Chris Madden won the B-Main.


For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto and follow the series on,, and


-Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Press Release. Photo credit:

LOLDMS Golden Isles Results - Friday

(powered by 51's Third Turn)
Fin St # Driver Laps Led Status
61Earl Pearson, Jr.509running
8777Jared Landers500running
130Scott Bloomquist500running
77Donald McIntosh500running
32sStormy Scott500running
1744Chris Madden 500running
185Don O'Neal500running
538Kenny Pettyjohn500running
491PJason Papich500running
1622Gregg Satterlee500running
1928Dennis Erb, Jr.500running
2315Steve Francis500running
1199mDevin Moran500running
1440bKyle Bronson490running
1520Jimmy Owens490running
2225xMike Benedum490running
1021JRBilly Moyer, Jr.490running
2428Eddie Carrier, Jr.490running
12B5Brandon Sheppard450out
15eRoss Bailes455flat tire
26Jonathan Davenport3736suspension
2111Austin Kirkpatrick280out
92FDennis Franklin230out
20111Steven Roberts 40out

Pearson Bags Memorable LOLMDS Victory at Home Track