MARKLEYSBURG, PA – Earl Pearson Jr. driving the Lucas Oil Products #44 passed race leader Scott Bloomquist with two laps to go to win the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event Wednesday Night at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex. It was Pearson’s first LOLMDS win in 2014.

Bloomquist took the lead from race long leader Mason Zeigler on lap 27 and was in control of the race until Pearson and Owens tracked him down late in the race. Bloomquist slipped slightly in turn four with three laps to go and that opened the door for Pearson, who had trailed Bloomquist for the previous 19 laps. Pearson dove under Bloomquist as they came to the white flag and forged ahead for the lead and brought his car to the checkered flag for the first time this season.

“What a great finish,” said Pearson, a 4-time LOLMDS National Champion. “I almost ran out of laps to pass him. The car just kept getting better and better. I knew I was faster than him [Bloomquist], and then he pushed up there in turn four and we were able to get underneath him. I did not want to see a caution flag in those last ten laps, I am glad it stayed green,” said Pearson, who became the 14th different winner this season on the LOLMDS tour.

“We have had all sorts of things break this year, from transmissions to rear ends, to all kinds of crazy stuff. Our car has been strong all year and it finally feels good to get a win for Bobby Labonte. These Longhorn cars have been strong all over the country this year. Kevin Rumley has done a superb job with these cars ever since he came on board. I have to thank my crew, they have stuck it out through thick and thin this year. I have to thank Lucas Oil Products, Sunoco, MAVTV American Real, Hoosier, Midwest Sheet Metal, and Clements Racing Engines.”

Owens snuck under Bloomquist at the finish line to take second, just behind Pearson. “We got it going late and we finally caught Scott and Earl there at the end; the next thing I knew, we almost won the race. Scott slid up in four and I thought Earl might due to the same thing. We almost stole that one. I hope the crowd enjoyed that race. I have to thank Mike Reece, Reece Monument Company, Edge Services, and all of my other great sponsors for making this possible.”

Bloomquist came home third was disappointed after leading so many laps. “With this car, we have not been outside the top three. We had bad luck at Smoky Mountain with that cut tire, and then to get the lead here tonight and thinking this was going to be our night, it is disappointing. I got into some crumbs there in turn four and the car slid up the track. We will just have to come back tomorrow and try again. I have to thank Ole Smoky Moonshine, Penske Shocks, Randy Sweet, and everybody else on the team.”

Completing the top ten were Don O’Neal, John Blankenship, Steve Francis, Gregg Satterlee, and Vic Coffey.

In preliminary action, Steve Francis set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 37 entrants, with a lap of 15.637 seconds. Mason Zeigler set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 15.752 seconds. Steve Francis, Earl Pearson Jr., Mason Zeigler, and Scott Bloomquist won their respective heat races. Corey Conley and John Garvin won their respective B-Mains.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto and follow the series on and

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Wednesday Night, July 2, 2014
Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex – Markleysburg, PA

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Steve Francis / 15.637 seconds

Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Mason Zeigler / 15.752 seconds

Fast Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Steve Francis, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Don O’Neal, Jason Hughes, Corey Conley, Jared Hawkins, Pancho Lawler, Bob Gordon, Craig Vosbergen, Dan Angelicchio-DNS

Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Earl Pearson, Jr., Rick Eckert, Vic Coffey, Austin Hubbard, Jason Papich, Shane Hitt, Chuck Harper, Quintin Wyandt, Scott Rhodes-DNS

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Mason Zeigler, Jimmy Owens, Davey Johnson, John Blankenship, Michael Lake, Allen Brannon, Ron DeLano, Jr., Jason Miller, Matthew Cosner

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Gregg Satterlee, Jared Landers, Mike Lupfer, John Garvin, Tim Senic, Cody Hardesty, Mike Benedum, Joe Krcelich

JRi Shocks B-Main #1 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer) Finish: Corey Conley, Jared Hawkins, Chuck Harper, Jason Papich, Pancho Lawler, Quintin Wyandt, Shane Hitt, Bob Gordon, Craig Vosbergen

CV Products B-Main #2 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer) Finish: John Garvin, Michael Lake, Cody Hardesty, Jason Miller, Allen Brannon, Joe Krcelich, Tim Senic, Ron DeLano, Jr., Matthew Cosner

Feature Finish (50 Laps):

1 3 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
2 6 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
3 4 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
4 5 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
5 2 25Z Mason Zeigler Chalk Hill, PA
6 9 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN
7 14 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
8 1 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
9 8 22s Gregg Satterlee Rochester Mills, PA
10 11 32c Vic Coffey Caledonia, NY
11 7 1 Rick Eckert York, PA
12 15 11h Austin Hubbard Seaford, DE
13 13 12 Jason Hughes Watts, OK
14 12 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
15 16 6 Mike Lupfer Shermansdale, PA
16 17 14 Corey Conley Wellsburg, WV
17 21 00h Chuck Harper Beverly, WV
18 23 91p Jason Papich Nipomo, CA
19 22 53 Cody Hardesty Oakland, PA
20 10 1J Davey Johnson Greensburg, PA
21 19 37 Jared Hawkins Fairmont, WV
22 18 J4 John Garvin Wampum, PA
23 20 27 Michael Lake Uniontown, PA
24 24 s2 Tim Senic Elkins, WV


Pearson Jr. & Bloomquist Wrestle in the Pennsylvania Dirt