A quartet of legendary short track racers are moving on to the “Pavement Four” in the Short Track Bracket Challenge.  Following the tabulation of hundreds of votes cast on Speed51.com powered by JEGS, the best short track racers from each region — Midwest, Northeast, Southeast and West Coast — have been crowned.


Richie Evans (Northeast), Jody Ridley (Southeast), Dick Trickle (Midwest) and Ron Hornaday, Jr. (West Coast) will be the four drivers squaring off in the Pavement Four to determine the greatest pavement short track racer of all time.




pfc-anim1Evans moves on to the Pavement Four following a thrilling down-to-the-last-minute battle with legendary racer Junior Hanley.  At one point on Wednesday afternoon, the two drivers each had 50-percent of the vote before Evans pulled ahead late to win by a five-point margin.


Ridley was crowned the Southeast region’s best after taking down Gary Balough by a 21-point margin.  The 1985 Snowball Derby winner has yet to be significantly challenged in the Short Track Bracket Challenge, but that is sure to change with a tough matchup against Modified great Richie Evans in the Pavement Four.


Another driver who has obliterated his opponents thus far is Wisconsin driver Dick Trickle.  The 32-time ASA National Tour winner defeated Bob Senneker by 39 points, his closest matchup yet, to advance to the Pavement Four.


The final driver qualifying for the next round is four-time NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion Ron Hornaday, Jr.  The California driver took down West Coast racing legend Garrett Evans in the Round of 8 to secure his matchup against Trickle in the Pavement Four.


Voting for the Pavement Four begins now on Speed51.com.  You can fill out your “bracket” now by clicking here.


Voting will continue until Sunday at 11:59 p.m. ET.  The championship matchup will be announced Monday on Speed51.com.


The full bracket, which started with 64 drivers, can be seen below.



‘Pavement Four’ Set for Short Track Bracket Challenge