WINCHESTER, NH – Todd Patnode scored his fourth win of the summer Saturday, July 5, at Monadnock Speedway. With a capacity crowd on hand for the high-banked speedplant’s annual Firecracker Night extravaganza, Richard Savary topped the 100-lap Valenti Modified Series main event, and Alyssa Rivera won her career-first Super Stock feature.

Chris McTaggart notched his first victory of the summer in the potent Mini Stock division. Hailey Guy was a first-time winner in the Young Guns, Kyle Boniface earned his sixth victory in the Lightning Stocks, and David Greenslit powered to his third 2014 win in the Thunder Stock feature.

Todd Owen set a torrid early-race pace in the VMRS main event, holding Justin Bonsignore and Chris Pasteryak in his shadow for 21 laps, with Bonsignore then powering to the point, where he would hold of Pasteryak, Owen, and Kirk Alexander until Pasteryak took control on lap 34.

With crowd favorites Kirk Alexander and Russ Hersey both challenging the leader in hope of scoring the big win to honor their late friend and longtime on-track foe Jim Boniface – Alexander what driving the Boniface 88 ride – Pasteryak held strong for 62 laps.

While Pasteryak was setting a torrid pace, Richard Savary was running a smooth and powerful race of his own not far behind the leaders. Saving his best stuff for show time, Savary – from row seven – cracked the top five on lap 70, entered the top three only five laps later, tooked over the deuce spot on lap 88, and quickly reeled Pasteryak in.

Savary edged under Pasteryak on lap 97 and then outdistanced his to take the checkers two lengths ahead of him. Bonsignore was solid in third, Rowan Pennink got up for fourth, and Hersey came home fifth. Alexander completed his strong night’s work in sixth.

Leslie Keyser led the first seven laps of the Sportsman Modified feature, with Trevor Bleau then leading Bill Kimball and Brian Chapin to the front. Kimball spun out of third on lap 18, and Chapin seized the lead the ensuing restart. Todd Patnode was up to fifth and coming fast.

Patnode steadily reeled the leaders in, taking over second when Bleau spun on lap 23. Chapin and Patnode hit the stripe dead even on lap 24, with Patnode in control the next time around and then dashing off to his fourth win of the summer. Chapin was solid in second, with Scott MacMichael,  Joey Kendall and Keith Carzello rounding out the top five.

Alyssa Rivera took the lead from Bill Johnston on lap ten of the Super Stock main, quickly opening a comfortable lead as the charging pack battled for second behind her. Dave Striebel  would reel Rivera in but, on this night, had to settle for second as Rivera earned her career-first victory.

Striebel  helped his cause in the points chase, solidifying his second-place ranking with the runner-up finish. Robert Hagar finished his strong night’s work in third, with Tyler Leary fourth and Johnston fifth.

Eric Pomasko and Kevin McKnight both had strong early-race runs at the front in the Mini Stock feature, but former division champ Chris McTaggart, from row  three, was never behind. McTaggart took the lead from McKnight on lap 12 and never looked back as he stormed to victory in front of the huge crowd.

Beth Adams, the defending track titlist, got up for second on lap 18 but could get no closer than eight lengths behind the winner. Rookie Cameron Sontag was steady and strong all night, coming home third, ahead of Mike Stebbins and Pomasko.

Dylan Morse held the point for 13 laps of the Young Guns feature, with Cole Littlewood and Hailey Guy putting up strong runs close behind him. When the lead pair jingled along the backstretch on the final lap, Guy was able to earn the lead and, with it, her first career victory. Matt Kimball was second, Alicia Springer third, Solomon Brow fourth, and Dan Starkweather fifth.

Henry  Martin and Randy McGee set the early-race pace in the Thunder Stock feature, with David Greenslit reeling McGee in on lap 14, taking the lead six laps later, and then blasting off to earn his third win of the season. McGee was solid in second, with Paul Barnard third, Scott Vien fourth and Usher fifth.

Kyle Boniface took the lead from early leaders Pat Houle and Tim Paquette in the Lightning Stock feature and then held Tim O’Shea in his shadow to score his sixth win of the season. With O’Shea strong in second, Paquette, Hillary Renaud, and Eric Silvernale rounded out the top five.

Monadbock Speedway will be taking a summer break this Saturday. Racing will resume on Saturday, July 19th featuring the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour plus all the speedway’s weekly racing divisions. Time Trials start at 4pm.

Monadnock Speedway Results – July 5, 2014

Sportsman Modifieds: Todd Patnode, Brian Chapin, Scott MacMichael, Joe Kendall, Keith Carzello, Athur Heino, Bill Kimball, Eric Leclair, Kim Rivet, Trevor Bleau, JT Cloutier,Tyler Jarvenpaa, Brad Zahensky, Steve Fifield, Leslie Keyser


Super Stocks: Alyssa Rivera, Dave Striebel, Robert Hagar, Tyler Leary, James Thompson, Bill Johnston, Tyler Lescord, Nancy Muni, Tom Carey III, Seth Petalas, Geoff Rollins

Mini Stocks: Chris McTaggart, Beth Adams, Cameron Sontag, Mike Stebbins, Kevin McKnight, DJ Lazelle, Julia Raymond, Joe Rogers, Ethan Marsh, Joel Monahan, Eric Pomasko, Bob Chapdelaine, Justin Faford, Louis Maher, Joe Collins

Lightning Stocks: Kyle Boniface, Tim O’Shea, Tim Paquette, Hillary Renaud, Eric Silvernale, Kris Kristolaitis, #30 Matt Somerville, Zachary Garrow, Chris Davis, CJ Johnson, Pat Houle

Thunder Stocks: Dave Greenslit, Randy McGee, Paul Barnard, Scott Vien, Marshall Usher, Jason Barden, Craig Chaffee, James Nowakowski, Chris Lawrence, Caleb Cashman, Henry Martin, Tyler Janovsky

-Monadnock Speedway Press Release. Photo Credit: Gary Dutton

Patnode Wins in Front of Capacity Crowd at Monadnock