WINCHESTER, NH – Teen speedster Tyler Leary scored his career-first Super Stock victory Saturday, June 28, at Monadnock Speedway. Leary was one of six different winners at the high-banked speedplant.

In the powerful Sportsman Modifieds, Todd Patnode rocketed to his third win of the summer. Four-hole master Toby Wells earned his first victory lap of the season, and Mike Stebbins continued his dominance of the Mini Stocks, scoring his sixth 2014 victory.

Mike McGoldrick Jr. roared to his third Young Guns win of the season. Marshall Usher topped the Thunder Stocks for the second week in a row; and Paul Laplante notched the victory in the visiting Vintage Outlaw event.

In the Sportsman Modified main event, Kimmy Rivet and Brad Zahensky hit the stripe even as the first lap went into the books, with Zahensky taking control a lap later and Trevor Bleau moving up to second. Brian Chapin – from row three – was quickly in the hunt too.

At the halfway mark, it was still Zahensky, Bleau, and Chapin holding the top three spots, with hard-charging Adam Norton storming up to fourth, and Todd Patnode – from row six – cracking the top five a lap later.

Trouble reshaped the race on lap 18, as four cars in the lead pack tangled along the frontstretch, including Chapin and Bleau. Back under green, Zahensky continued to set the fast pace, but now with both Norton and Patnode knocking at his back door.

Patnode made a bold low-groove move into turn three on lap 21, quickly moving both Zahensky and Norton into his rearview mirror. Two laps later, Bill Kimball turned on the afterburners on a restart, booting Norton back to fourth.

With Patnode running out the race from the best seat in the house to score his third victory of the year, Zahesnky’s impressive outing went to waste as he fell victim to late-race mechanical woes. Kimball took the checkers in second, a carlength behind Patnode, and Norton, John Studley, and Scott MacMichael rounded out the top five.

James Thompson and Ian MacDonald hit the stripe dead even as lap one of the Super Stock feature went into the books. A lap later, Thompson owned the point, with Alyssa Rivera now riding in his shadow.

By lap ten, Tom Carey III – from row five – was up to third, and very much in the hunt for his seventh consecutive victory. Carey would rub past Rivera on lap 14, with Tyler Leary charging into the top three two laps later.

Leary rocketed into the lead on a lap 18 restart, then holding Carey in his shadow the rest of the way to score his career-first victory on the high banks. With Carey adding to his points lead with the night’s runner-up finish, Thompson completed his impressive outing in third. Rookie Seth Petalas was fourth with an impressive run, and Dave Striebel fifth.

DJ Lazelle set the early pace in the Mini Stock main, with Justin Faford moving into the lead on lap three. Faford continued to set the pace, with Beth Adams and Mike Stebbins close behind until lap nine.

The lead trio then charged into the south end of the track, with Adams looking high, and Stebbins low as lap ten was about to go into the books. Stebbins had the preferred line, then taking control and holding Adams in his shadow the rest of the way.

Cameron Sontag claimed the third-place hardware, behind Stebbins and Adams, with Chris McTaggart and Joe Rogers rounding out the top five.

Haley Guy led the first 12 laps of the Young Guns feature, but a lap-12 caution brought Mike McGoldrick to her back bumper. A lap later, McGoldrick had the lead and would dart off to score his third win of the summer, two lengths ahead of Guy.

The impressive runner-up finish was Guy’s best outing of the season. Rookie Solomon Brow made a shrewd last-lap pass to claim third, with Dylan Morse and Michelle Leh rounding out the top five.

Kyle Boniface took immediate control of the Lightning Stock feature, with Matt Somerville, and then Toby Wells running second. Wells had the deuce spot by lap five, and took another three trips around the high banks to reel Boniface in.

Wells passed Boniface along the backstretch to take control on lap ten, and then slowly pulled away, beating Boniface to the checkers by ten carlengths. CJ Johnson, Chris Davis, and Hillary Renaud rounded out the top five.

Jason Barden set the early pace in the Thunder Stock main. Paul Barnard then grabbed the lead on lap four, and by lap eight Barnard and Marshall Usher were racing wheel-to-wheel for the lead. Usher took control on lap nine, with Dave Greenslit grabbing second on the same lap.

A lapped car almost cost Usher the lead on lap 18, but he recovered to take the checkers by a slim half-car margin over Greenslit two laps later. Tyler Janovsky was strong in third, with Henry Martin and Barnard rounding out the top five.

Paul Laplante won the Vintage Outlaws event. Art Chartier was second, and Paul Suprenant came home third.

This Saturday, July 5, Monadnock Speedway will host its huge annual Firecracker Night. The Valenti Modified Racing Series will be in town to battle in a 100-lap main event, with six divisions of NASCAR All-American Series racing also on tap. Special starting time for this huge event is 5 p.m.

Monadnock Speedway Results – June 28, 2014

Sportsman Modifieds: Todd Patnode, Bill Kimball, Adam Norton, John Studley, Scott MacMichael, Steve Fifield, Kim Rivet, JT Clutier, Brian Chapin, Trveor Bleau, Eric LeClair, Leslie Keyser, Tyler Jarvenpaa, Brad Zahensky, Keith Crazello, Brett Gonyaw, Matt Rzewnicki

Super Stocks: Tyler Leary, Tom Carey III, James Thomposn, Seth Petalas, Dave Striebel, Alyssa Rivera, Tyler Lescord, Nancy Muni, Ian MacDonald, Bill Johnston

Mini Stocks: Mike Stebbins, Beth Adams, Cameron Sontag, Chris McTaggart, Joe Rogers, Justin Faford, Joel Monahan, Ethan Marsh, Eric Pomasko, Kevin McKnight, Dana Shepard, DJ Lazelle, Rick Lambert

Lightning Stocks: Toby Wells, Kyle Boniface, CJ Johnson, Chris Davis, Hillary Renaud, Eric Silvernale, Kris Kristolaitis, Matt Somerville

Thunder Stocks: Marshal Usher, Dave Greenslit, Tyler Janovsky, Henry Martin, Paul Barnard, Json Barden, Jon Goddard, Chris Lawrence, Jame Nowakowski, John Russell, Caleb Cashman, Craig Chaffee

Young Guns: Mike McGoldrick, Hailey Guy, Solomon Brow, Dylan Morse, Michelle Leh, Justin Littlewood, Colton Smith, Matt Kimball, Dan Starkweather, Bow Smith, Alicia Springer

-Monadnock Speedway Press Release. Photo Credit: Gary Dutton

Patnode Score Third Sportsman Mod Win of 2014 at Monadnock