WINCHESTER, NH – Todd Patnode answered the door when opportunity came knocking Saturday, August 2, at Monadnock Speedway.

Patnode’s good fortune arrived in the same package as Scott MacMichael’s heartbreak, as the race-leading MacMichael skidded through a pool of fluid into the frontstretch wall with three laps to go in the Sportsman Modified main event; with Patnode then rocketing to his sixth victory of the summer as MacMichael watched from the pits.

Geoff Rollins scored his first win of the summer, winning the rapid fire Super Stock feature to become the division’s seventh different winner this season; while Mini Stock strongman Mike Stebbins ended Chris McTaggart’s three-race winning streak by roaring to his seventh victory of the year.

Dave Greenslit earned his fifth Thunder Stock victory lap of the season; and Mike McGoldrick Jr. won the closest race of the night, nipping Cole Littlewood by inches to win the Young Guns feature.

Rookie Trevor Bleau set a fast pace for the first 11 laps of the Sportsman Modified main, with Scott MacMichael – from row four – reeling him in on lap nine to challenge for the lead. MacMichael grabbed the top spot on a lap-12 restart, with Todd Patnode roaring into second to challenge him a lap later.

MacMichael and Patnode would distance themselves from the rest of the field over the next 14 laps, with Patnode riding in the leader’s shadow every inch of the way. MacMichael’s bid for his second win in as many weeks ended abruptly on lap 27, when he skidded on fluid through turn four and left the high banks on the hook.

Patnode ran out the final three laps of the event without a serious challenge, to pad his division points lead with his sixth win of the summer. Tyler Jarvenpaa was strong in second, Bill Kimball scored a close third, and Keith Carzello and Rookie JT Cloutier rounded out the top five.

Tyler Lescord led the first five laps of the Super Stock feature, with Geoff Rollins then diving below him on lap six to seize the lead and never look back. But while Rollins would run out the race from the point, he had plenty of competition, as Alyssa Rivera and Tom Carey III were glued in-line behind him for most of the way.

Rivera claimed second on lap six, and Carey roared into third two laps later. But while Rollins, Rivera and Carey would race under a blanket the rest of the way, neither of his foes had an answer for Rollins on this night, as the Groton, Mass. pilot notched his first win of the summer.

Rivera took the checkers inches behind Rollins in second. Carey was equally close to Rivera in third, and Dave Striebel and Tyler Leary rounded out the top five.

Mini Stock rookie Justin Faford paced the field for the first six laps of his feature race, then giving way to division points leader Mike Stebbins. Eric Pomasko dropped the rookie back to third on lap 11, but the only question on this night was who would place second behind Stebbins.

With Stebbins earning his seventh 2014 victory lap, Pomasko was strong in second, Rookie Faford completed his good night’s work in third, Joel Monahan was fourth, and Chris McTaggart came home fifth.

Mike McGoldrick Jr. took the lead from Hailey Guy on lap seven of the Young Guns feature, then holding the point the rest of the way to notch his fourth win of the summer in a finish that had the crowd on its feet.

Cole Littlewood took over second with four laps to go in the 15-lap event and came within inches of snatching the victory from McGoldrick, as the two hit the finish line in almost a dead heat. Matt Kimball was third on the night, with Guy and Michelle Leh completing the top five.

Craig Chaffee led the first 11 laps of the Thunder Stock feature, with Jason Barden and Paul Barnard close behind in the early laps. Dave Greenslit worked his way up to second on lap seven, hit the stripe in almost a dead heat with Chaffee on lap 11, and then took command.

Points leader Marshall Usher followed Greenslit to the point, and the two would then run nose-to-tail until the checkers waved over Greenslit’s fifth win of the season. With Usher second, Bryan Town, Chaffee, and Tyler Janovsky rounded out the top five.

Joe Keefner and Rick MacDowell raced wheel-to-wheel for 15 laps in the STAR Sportsman feature, with Keefner surging ahead at the finish line to score the win. With MacDowell a close second, Bob Harless came home third.

James Allen was the winner in the STAR Modified go-round. Jamie Ferland was second, and Brian Robie third.

Champ Kart pilot James Montpelier had trophied earlier this season at Monadnock, and upped his stock Saturday by winning the kart feature. Cody Mardanes was second on the night, and JT Cloutier was third.

This Saturday, August 9, the Granite State Pro Stock Series visits Monadnock Speedway to contest the JBH 100 main event. With a six-division card of Whelen All-American Series racing also on tap, post time is 6 p.m.
For more information, visit

Sportsman Modifieds: Todd Patbnode, Tyler Jarvenpaa, Bill Kimball, Keith Carzello, JT Cloutier, Steve Fifield, Trevor Bleau, Eric Leclair, Matt Rzewnicki, Scott MacMichael, Brian Chapin, Kim Rivet, Dana Smith, Adam Norton

Super Stocks: Geoff Rollins, Alyssa Rivera, Tom Carey III, Dave Striebel, Tyler Leary, Nancy Muni, Tyler Lescord, Ian MacDonald

Mini Stocks: Mike Stebbins, Eric Pomasko, Justin Faford, Joel Monahan, Chris McTaggart, Ethan Marsh, DJ Lazelle, Cameron Sontag, Kevin McKnight

Thunder Stocks: Dave Greenslit, Marshall Usher, Bryan Town, Craig Chaffee, Tyler Janovsky, Jason Barden, Paul Barnard, Henry Martin, Caleb Cashman, Chris Lawrence

Young Guns: Mike McGoldrick Jr., Cole Littlewood, Hailey Guy, Michelle Leh, Justin Littlewood, Dan Starkweather, Bow Smith, Cole Smith, Corey Wheeler, Dylan Morse, Solomon Brow

-Monadnock Speedway Press Release. Photo Credit: Gary Dutton

Patnode Capitalizes on MacMichael’s Misfortune at Monadnock