Palmetto State Racer Continues Carolina Clash Tear

Brett Hamm continued his tear through the Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series Tuesday night, winning the Shrine 100 at Carolina Speedway (NC) for his third series victory in 2019.


Hamm extends his series points lead with the victory,  another memorable win at the Gastonia, North Carolina facility.  The Newberry, South Carolina native also won the Skyler Trull Memorial on July 26.


“I won the Skyler Trull, and that was awesome,” Hamm said in victory lane.  “This is awesome.  It’s a very sweet deal.”


Hamm started second in the 35-lap feature, alongside first-time Carolina Clash pole-sitter Adam Yarbrough.  Hamm took the lead from “The Denver Dirt Slinger” on the opening lap and led the rest of the way for a $4,000 payday.


This year marked the 47th Annual running of the Shrine 100, which benefits the Gaston County Shrine Club and Shriners Hospitals for Children.  While Hamm is not from North Carolina, many tracks in his home state have similar races benefitting their local Shrine Clubs and he appreciates the importance of these races.


“We’re not from this area, but where we’re from, we have the same Shrine races down around the middle of South Carolina, the same deal,” said Hamm.  “It’s always a big deal, no matter what they pay.  It’s just something everybody wants to win.”


Trent Ivey, also a winner at Carolina Speedway earlier this season with the Carolina Clash, finished second to Hamm.  It marked his third runner-up finish with the series in 2019, a trend the Super Late Model rookie is eager to break.


“Second,” Ivey commented. “We just didn’t have our stuff together, man.  Brett was good.  We qualified terrible; I don’t really know why.  It just sucks knowing we’ve been fast, just not fast enough.


“We’re still happy to be here,” added Ivey.  “We’re running Supers, first year out, we’re running good.  We’ve just got to go, baby.”


Michael Brown finished third in the 35-lap feature, with five-time Shrine 100 winner Dennis Franklin taking fourth and Anthony Sanders rounding out the top five.


Race fans who missed Tuesday’s Shrine 100 can watch highlights from the Carolina Clash feature on the Speed51 Network by clicking here.


The Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series will next be in action on August 24 at Cherokee Speedway (SC).  For more information, visit and


-Story by: Zach Evans, Southeast Editor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: photo


Pos # Driver
1 18 Brett Hamm
2 88T Trent Ivey
3 24D Michael Brown
4 2 Dennis Franklin
5 421 Anthony Sanders
6 91 Derrick Ramey
7 42S Doug Sanders
8 07 Brian Ledbetter
9 57 Adam Yarbrough
10 26W Brandon White
11 2E Jason Eidson
12 03 David Yandle
13 00 Jeff Smith
14 20 Jonathan Jennings – DNS



Palmetto State Racer Continues Carolina Clash Tear