The biggest short track race in New England is still almost two months away, and yet there are already 50 names on the entry list for the 42nd Annual Oxford 250 at Maine’s legendary Oxford Plains Speedway.


The entry list is chock full of stars from the Pro All-Stars Series North and beyond who will be hoping to cash in on the $25,000-to-win prize.


Drivers like three-time Oxford 250 winner, “The Maine Racing Legend” Mike Rowe, two-time defending winner Travis Benjamin, two-time winner Ben Rowe, and 2012 winner Joey Polewarczyk Jr. highlight the list.


Kyle Busch, the 2011 winner of the Oxford 250, will not be racing, but he will still make his presence felt in Maine.  His Kyle Busch Motorsports No. 51 will still be on track, but with 18-year-old phenom Christopher Bell behind the wheel.  Bell hasn’t run many Super Late Model races yet, but he’s already been able to score quite a few wins, including one in this year’s Rattler 250 at South Alabama Speedway.


The eight-time American Canadian Tour champion Brian Hoar is on the list with his No. 37 machine.  Hoar has made four Oxford 250 starts and has scored three top-five finishes.  His best result came when he scored a runner-up finish in the 2010 running of the 250.


Hoar is joined by fellow ACT champion Wayne Helliwell Jr. who is going to attempt his seventh Oxford 250.  The two-time ACT champ and current ACT point leader has scored one top-five finish in his six prior starts with a fourth-place run coming in 2012.


The defending Granite State Pro Stock Series champion Dillon Moltz is going to attempt to make his second Oxford 250 start behind the wheel of the Mark Brackett-owned RB Performance No. 5 machine.  It will be his first attempt to qualify for the race since 2012 when he started 23rd, but finished 30th.


In addition to the touring series stars, the entry list is full of Oxford Plains Speedway regulars like the Bracketts, Tim, TJ, and Vanna.  Tim Brackett is currently atop the Oxford Super Late Model points standings, with Treadwell sitting just 15 points behind.  That is a crucial battle to watch, as the points leader going into the Oxford 250 is guaranteed a starting spot in the prestigious event.


A few PASS South regulars are also planning to make the trek up north.  Tate Fogelman is bringing his yellow and blue No. 8 machine north, and he’ll be joined by Jody Measamer in the black No. 98 machine.


The very first entry was filed by the 2013 PASS North champion, Cassius Clark earlier this year.  Clark, the 2013 PASS North champion, has made seven Oxford 250 starts with his best result coming last year when he finished fourth.


Clark will be joined by six-time PASS North champion Johnny Clark, 2013 Oxford 250 runner-up Joey Doiron and a host of other PASS North regulars hoping to keep the title within the series.


The full entry list, as of July 6, can be found by clicking here.


The 42nd Annual Oxford 250 weekend is slated for August 28-30 at the legendary Oxford Plains Speedway.  Reserved tickets are available by calling the race track at 207-539-8865.


-By Rob Blount, Northeast Editor – Twitter: @RobBlount

-Photo credit: Lindsay Ellison Photography

Oxford 250 Entry List Reaches 50, Chock Full of Stars