Oxford 250 Entry List Already Filled With Big Names & Champions

Naples, ME – The entry list continues to grow as the biggest Pro All Stars Series (PASS) Super Late Model race of the year draws near. With still two months to go before the green flag drops, there are currently over 30 entries for the 46th Annual Oxford 250 at Oxford Plains Speedway coming up in August. Racers from coast-to-coast are eagerly anticipating the biggest Super Late Model race in the country and the chance to win $50,000.


The first entrant for this year’s Oxford 250 was the current PASS National Championship leader, Mike Hopkins. The Maine native was the first driver in PASS history to win with Five Star’s next generation body when he took the checkered flag in the Commonwealth Classic at Richmond Raceway. Among those joining Hopkins on the current entry list are defending Oxford 250 winner, Bubba Pollard, from Georgia and Northwest racing legend, Garrett Evans, from Washington. Joining Pollard as former Oxford 250 winners that are entered include: Travis Benjamin, Curtis Gerry, Glen Luce, Joey Polewarcyzk, and the father-son duo of Mike and Ben Rowe.


PASS Champions currently entered include, six-time North champion Johnny Clark, three-time PASS North champion DJ Shaw, as well as former PASS National champions Cassius Clark and Derek Griffith. Last year’s Oxford Plains champion, Gabe Brown, has filed an entry along with Canadians Cole Butcher and Ashton Tucker, and top PASS runners, Reid Lanpher, Tracy Gordon, and two-time Oxford Plains PASS winner Garrett Hall.


With another high number of quality Super Late Models expected again for the Oxford 250, getting a guaranteed starting spot is an opportunity that cannot be missed. Now in its sixth year, the groundbreaking “Road To The Oxford 250” program further expands to give racers an opportunity to get locked into short track asphalt racing’s biggest event. And, the next couple of months are loaded with opportunities.


Following the qualifiers already held at Washington’s Wenatchee Valley Super Oval, Oxford Plains, and Thunder Road International Speedbowl, the next event will be held at Speedway 95 on Sunday, June 16. Then on Sunday, July 6 The Open 100 at Oxford Plains Speedway will give drivers who have not won a PASS event in the last five years a chance at guaranteed starting spots in this year’s Oxford 250. As a matter of fact, Wayne Helliwell, Jr. parlayed his guaranteed spot won in the 2016 Open 100 to the win a month later in the 43rd Annual Oxford 250.


But the opportunities do not end there, on Tuesday, July 30, PASS North racers will compete for 200 laps at Star Speedway in New Hampshire, followed by the final “Road To The Oxford 250” event on Sunday, August 4 at Spud Speedway in Caribou, ME.


Entry forms for the 46th Annual Oxford 250 are available at ProAllStarsSeries.com, along with forms for upcoming PASS events at New Hampshire Motor Speedway and The Open 100 at Oxford Plains Speedway.


The Pro All Stars Series is recognized as North America’s premier sanctioning body for asphalt Super Late Models and boasts such marquee events as the legendary Oxford 250 at Oxford Plains Speedway, the Easter Bunny 150 at the historic Hickory Motor Speedway, and the PASS Commonwealth Classic at Richmond Raceway. For technical information concerning all PASS divisions please send questions to [email protected] For media or marketing questions, please contact Alan Dietz at 704-231-2039 or [email protected] And, don’t forget to “Like” the Pro All Stars Series on Facebook or follow us on Twitter @PASSSLM14 to keep up with breaking news as it happens.


-PASS Press Release

-Photo credit: Speed51.com / John A. Miller Photography

Oxford 250 Entry List Already Filled With Big Names & Champions