Over 60 Modifieds Entered for $20K Race at Baer Field

This weekend, the ICAR Strike Force Energy All-Star Modified Tour will head to Baer Field Motorsports Park for a one-of-a-kind event, the Inaugural Crown Jewel of Modifieds.  Drivers will compete for 100 laps on the half-mile for $10,000 to win.  After a 100 lap JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour race, the Modifieds will return for another 100 laps on the track’s 3/8ths mile layout for another $10,000 to win.  If a driver can sweep both races, he or she will pocket a cool $20,000.


While an entry list is available on the Tour website, it has not been updated since March 14th. With that being said, the list of entries available are led by Outlaw Super Late Model sensation Tyler Roahrig.  He will be joined by 2017 Summer Sizzler winner Bud Perry, three-time Kalamazoo Speedway track champion Mike ‘Bubba’ Brooks, and  Steve Stacy, who is coming off a win in The Gambler at South Bend Motor Speedway.


Defending ICAR All-Star Modified Tour champion Kyle Purvis is entered.  While he has yet to win with the ICAR series in 2019, he won half the races in last year’s ICAR Modified season and is a Modifieds of Mayhem winner earlier this season at Five Flags Speedway.


The Champion Racing Association is represented by several of their former title holders.  2011 ARCA/CRA Super Series champion Derrick Griffin is entered, along with 2005 series champion and 2011 CRA Street Stock champion Jeff Lane, 2014 JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour champion Dan Leeck, and 2007 CRA Late Model Sportsman champion Billy Hutson.


Two-time Florida Modifed World Series of Asphalt champion Travis Eddy is also entered for the Crown Jewel of Modifieds.  The two victors in ICAR All-Star Modified Tour races this season, Blake Rowe and David McManus, are also entered.


A slew of former series champions are set to battle for the $20,000, including Purvis, Lane, local ace Scott Coe, Brad Springer, Jonathan Martin, and Brian Nester.


Some of Baer Field’s top local talent will look to take on the Tour and out-of-own invaders and keep the $20K in the area.  They include Coe, Matt Dimit, Jason and Aaron Timmerman, Jeremy Wallen, Terry Fisher Jr, Jake Hinton, and Stephen Minich Jr.


Two races have been completed so far in the ICAR All-Star Modified Tour, both of which were competed in the state of Michigan.  After the first two scheduled races of the season at Lucas Oil Raceway and Flat Rock Speedway were rained out, Blake Rowe won the season-opener at Birch Run Speedway on May 31st and David McManus won one for the home team at Auto City Speedway last weekend.


The weekend for the ICAR All-Star Modifieds will start off with practice on Friday.  They will qualifying and run all their heat races and qualifiers to set the starting lineup for the Crown Jewel of Modifieds 100-lap features on Saturday.  The main events will take place on Sunday afternoon, and you can watch it all on Speed51.com as part of our PPV coverage.


Entries (As of March 14th)

Brian Nester

Sam Bigham

Robbie Drummond

Buddy Gray

Brad Springer

Bud Perry

Damon Breedlove

Danny Jackson

Dan Leeck

Bud Adams

David McManus

Greg Fullarton

Harold Scott

Curtis Spencer

Travis Eddy

Evan Foster

Joey Morrisette

Tyler Roahrig

Scott Coe

Bubba Brooks

Matt Dimit

Jordan Pruitt

Doug Mott

Doug Meyer

Steve Stace

Bubba Smith

Norm Tayler

Preston Walker

Blake Rown

Jason Timmerman

Dave Nester

Aaron Timmerman

Josh Nester

Jeff Lane

Justin King

Justin Noffsinger

Billy Hutson

Dan Loughan

Lenny Logan

Mel Klein

Jeremy Wallen

Rick Groetsch

Kyle Purvis

Terry Fisher Jr

Dennis Craft

Jake Hinton

Steve Smith

Brad Yelton

Chris Hettinger

Derrick Griffin

Don Skaggs

Damian Lytle

Stephen Minich Jr

Casey Nash

Kevin Seidler

David Metzger

Stephen Bacon

Chad Richardson


-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51.com State Editor (IN & MI) – Twitter: @kgeyer3

-Photo credit: Speed51.com photo

Over 60 Modifieds Entered for $20K Race at Baer Field