Over 20 Drivers Already Registered for 2020 GSPSS Season

As the Granite State Pro Stock Series makes its way through the long New England off season, series staff and teams prepare for the upcoming racing calendar.


The 2020 Schedule has seen a few last minute adjustments of late, but the bulk of it remains the same. The tentative date at Adirondack Speedway won’t happen but New London-Waterford Speedbowl has picked up that date, and construction at the Connecticut shoreline oval seems to be progressing nicely.


Also recently announced was a rain date for the Beech Ridge event. Should weather interrupt the Friday, July 24 event, it will happen on Saturday, July 25 instead.


Finally, for the last several years, the GSPSS has highlighted the Friday portion of Thompson’s World Series. New for 2020 is a Saturday race date and the crowning of a champion that weekend.


Teams also have started thinking about the season ahead and if early registrations are any indication, 2020 could be a record breaking year. Nearly 20 teams have registered as of the first of February with drivers from seven states having filed paperwork to compete.


A pair of former champions have registered for 2020. Two-time series champion Mike O’Sullivan will compete in his traditional No. 08. The Wilbraham, MA driver ran a limited schedule in 2019 after work commitments and an injury cut short his season. Another former champion returning for 2020 is Belchertown, MA’s Barry Gray. The 2016 title holder looks to right the ship after a dismal 2019 season.


Other veterans that have registered thus far include Wayne Helliwell Jr. and his Bruce Bernhardt led team, as well as long time series competitor Cory Casagrande and Claremont, NH’s Luke Hinkley.


Ray Christian III and his Crazy Horse Racing team have registered for the 2020 season as they try to move up one spot in the final point standings. Christian will face stiff competition from several teams including the Davis Chassis Works team lead by driver Jeremy Davis in their brand-new machine.


Several newcomers look to compete with the series during the coming season. Beach Ridge veteran Trevor Sanborn and Seekonk veterans Kevin Casper and Ryan Lineham have both filed paperwork. So too have Sayville, NY’s Kyle Harvell and Cody Leblanc who will compete for Rookie of the Year honors.


Young guns Jimmy Renfrew Jr., Jake Matheson and Gabe Brown are all early registrants. All three look to continue to learn and improve their results in 2020.


Despite it already being 2020, there is one more event on the 2019 schedule. The annual banquet of champions will be held on Saturday, February 22 at the Thompson Speedway club house. There, the series will honor 2020 GSPSS champion Joey Doiron and his team on their championship season. Despite recent shoulder surgery, Doiron and his family-owned team are expected to try to defend there title in 2020. At the banquet they will receive the champions share of a record series point fund.


For more Information go to www.gspss.net or check them out on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram.


Registered Drivers (as of 02/03/2020)

  • 00  Jimmy Renfrew Jr.
  • 7   Cory Casagrande
  • 08  Mike O’Sullivan
  • 12  Bobby Pelland Jr.
  • 16  Kyle Harvell
  • 16  TBA
  • 17  Kevin Folan
  • 21  Josh King
  • 27  Wayne Helliwell Jr.
  • 28  Greg Nanigian
  • 29  Barry Gray
  • 29s  Trevor Sanborn
  • 31  Luke Hinkley
  • 47  Gabe Brown
  • 48  Ryan Lineham
  • 51  Bill Ahern
  • 51P John Peters
  • 52  Jake Matheson
  • 55  Cody LeBlanc
  • 73  Joey Doiron
  • 88  Kevin Casper
  • 90  Casey Call
  • 93  Ray Christian III


-Granite State Pro Stock Series Press Release

-Photo credit: Speed51

Over 20 Drivers Already Registered for 2020 GSPSS Season