JEFFERSON, GA – A pair of ‘three-peats’ and a double-spin win highlighted Saturday’s six-division Stockerama racing program at Gresham Motorsports Park.

Gary Zajdek and Matt Vassar both earned their third GMP main event victories of the season in distinctly different fashions.

Zajdek and B.J. Fisher battled side-by-side for more than half the 25-lap Front-Wheel Drive division main event with Zajdek’s Honda Accord taking control in the final circuits. Fisher, in his first GMP appearance of the season, hung on for second in front of Brian Sutton’s Mazda MX-6.

Zadjek has now won more than $1,300 in prize money and product certificates in just three GMP events this season.

Meanwhile, Vassar pulled off a daring three-wide move on the back straight of the GMP half-mile to clear traffic in the Pro Truck 30-lap headliner. Two laps later, the Ford-F150 driver sprinted into the lead and away from the pack to score his third GMP Truck Series triumph this season.

The Truck event also saw the most serious incident of the evening as Ronnie Wehunt tagged the outside wall exiting Turn 4. The hard impact sent Wehunt’s truck – now damaged and on fire – careening across the GMP front straight where it made hard contact with the inside retaining wall.

Wehunt’s Truck eventually ground to a halt where he quickly exited the burning vehicle. GMP safety crews quickly put of the fire and cleaned up debris from the wreck while medical personnel determined Wehunt was uninjured in the incident.

Back under green, Vassar dominated the final laps beating Rodney Benefield, Ty Roberts, Jamie Weimer and Kevin Vassar to the checkered flag of the season.

Matthew Wragg turned in the most impressive drive of the night in the Outlaw Late Model main event. Wragg, the fastest qualifier in the division, spun twice and was still able to drive from the back to win the 30-lap event.

Russell Shore led early and eventually turned in his best performance of the year finishing second followed by Jason Bates, David Murphy, Marlin Gunter and Shawn Simpson.

In other Stockerama action Saturday, Brian Sosbee’s first trip to GMP this season resulted in a 25-lap feature win in the Sportsman division. Sosbee battled Jackie Daniel – a two-time Sportsman winner this at GMP this season – in the early stages of the event before pulling away for an easy win and a $400 payday.

Sosbee also earned an additional $100 product certificate from CV Products making it a profitable inaugural trip to GMP this season.

Finally, Brian Beckner and Allen Cantrell rounded out the list of winner’s atSaturday’s GMP Stockerama copping their respective Renegade and Mini-Stock division main events.

Next up at GMP will be a Thursday Throwdown Street Drag Program this Thursday, June 19. The ‘race your own Street Car, Truck, Van or SUV’ program is fun, safe and – best of all – legal.

It’s also just $20 to participate and includes a safety inspection, practice rounds and two bracket entries. Drivers must be 16 or older and hold a valid driver’s license. Drivers 16 and 17 must have a signed Parental and Insurance Waiver on file at GMP to race (forms can be downloaded at Street Drag section.

Grandstand spectator admission is just $5 and kids 12 and under are always free at GMP.

Pit gates for the June 12 Thursday Throwdown Street Drags open at 5:30 p.m. with practice runs from 6:30-7:30 p.m. Eliminations start at 8:15 p.m.

The next GMP Stockerama is set for Saturday, June 21. Dubbed ‘Parks And Wreck’ Night, all area Spring and Summer program Parks and Recreation athletes 16 years old and under in uniform/team shirt will be admitted Free.

Also on tap will the debut of the ‘Speedy Spud’ contest, Free Pace Car rides before the races, and free outdoor Laser Tag and other games for the kids courtesy of Funopolis Family Fun Center in Commerce.

Adult general admission is just $10. Main Grandstand and Trackside Parking gates open at 4 p.m.

The first race is set for 7 p.m.

For More information about all GMP events and racing divisions, please log on

Saturday, June 14 Stockerama Official Results

Sportsman – 25 Laps

  1. 1.    Brian Sosbee
  2. 2.    John Mobley
  3. 3.    Jackie Daniel
  4. 4.    Rob Hubbard

Renegades – 25 Laps

  1. 1.    Bryan Beckner

FWD’s – 25 Laps

  1. 1.    Gary Zajdek
  2. 2.    B;J. Fisher
  3. 3.    Brian Sutton

Mini Stocks – 25 Laps

  1. 1.    Allen Cantrell

Trucks  – 30 Laps

  1. 1.    Matt Vassar
  2. 2.    Rodney Benefield
  3. 3.    Ty Roberts
  4. 4.    Jami Weimer
  5. 5.    Kevin Vassar
  6. 6.    Trevor Shirley
  7. 7.    Ronnie Wehunt
  8. 8.    Kristen Wallace

Outlaw Late Models – 30 Laps

  1. 1.    Matthew Wragg
  2. 2.    Russell Shore
  3. 3.    Jason Bates
  4. 4.    David Murphy
  5. 5.    Marlin Gunter
  6. 6.    Shawn Simpson


Outlaw LM, Street Stocks & Truck Winners at GMP