Andrew Gresel came into the final event of 2014 with two things on his mind. The feature win on Sunday, and his first ever OSCAAR Super Late Model Championship. At the end of the fifty lap event he was able to cross both off is bucket list. Taking advantage of the pole position earned at the Chase for the Colours, the #81 would lead all 50 laps of the event. Kevin Cornelius came into the event second in points with a slim mathematical chance to take the championship away from Gresel. Unfortunately electrical problems forced the team pit side during the parade laps, and barely made it out for the start of the feature. The problems persisted and forced the team out of competition but the team was able to hold on to second place in the points. The battles in the top five in the feature event kept the fans on the edge of their seats.  A lap 49 pass by the 89c of Shawn Chenoweth moved him up to the second place at the line. John Owens gave it all he had on a lap 48 restart as he lined up in second place beside the #81 of Gresel but at the end had to settle for third place finish. Mike Beyore rallied back after a lap one incident sent him to the back with a fourth place finish. Rounding out the top five was the #39 of Shane Gowan with a very impressive run recording his best finish of the 2014 season.

Bad Luck of the event: Several drivers race came to an early end on lap 19 of the feature event. Coming out of turn 4 the #27 of J.R Fitzpatrick while running in second place had the car jump out of gear. With 23 super late models at full speed mayhem ensued. When the smoke cleared there were 7 cars in turn one with various amounts of damage. The 40p of Charlie Gallant took one of the hardest hits in the accident, thankfully the safety equipment did its job and he was able to walk away. The #13 of Gary Passer also suffered race ending front end damage which ended his race early. The #94 of Denny Varco from Sault St Marie making his first ever OSCAAR start suffered extensive front and rear damage ending his race.

Rookie Battle: The three top rookies of 2014 were all in attendance for the final event of the year. Kelly Balson in his #b10 was once again the top rookie of the race and locked up the 2014 Rookie of the Year title.  Dave Doucette closed out his 2014 season with a 10th place finish and runner up in the rookie battle. Corey Jones scored a thirteenth place finish and finished the year off with third place in the rookie standings

Car Count: 26

Top qualifier: #27 J.R Fitzpatrick

Pole Sitter: #81 Andrew Gresel

Heat Race winners: # 27J.R Fitzpatrick x2, #10 Jesse Kennedy, #81 Andrew Gresel, #7t Jeff Dunford, #90 Mark Dilley

Top Five in Points: 1st #81 Andrew Gresel 806 pts, 2nd #17 Kevin Cornelius 750 pts, 3rd #10 Jesse Kennedy 740 pts, 4th #22 Glenn Watson 714 pts, 5th #b10 Kelly Balson 691 pts

Feature Finish: 1) # 81 Andrew Gresel, 2) #89c Shawn Chenoweth, 3) #2 John Owen, 4) #54 Mike Beyore, 5) #39 Shane Gowan, 6) #22 Glenn Watson, 7) #90 Mark Dilley, 8) #b10 Kelly Balson, 9) #10 Jesse Kennedy, 10) #44 Dave Doucette, 11) #42 Tyler Hawn, 12) #16 Robert Bickle, 13) #82 Corey Jones, 14) 7t Jeff Dunford, 15) #91 Keith King, 16) #27 J.R Fitzpatrick, 17) #48 Dwayne Baker, 18) #47m Brent McLean, 19) #40p Charlie Gallant, 20) #13 Gary Passer, 21) #94 Denny Varcoe, 22) Kevin Cornelius, 23) #92 Justin Jones, 24) #57 Craig Stevenson, 25) #5 Ron Hollis, 26) #51 Dave Taylor (dns)

OSCAAR 2014 Partners:  Crane Cams Hanover Holidays Hoosier Tire, Jenco Equipment, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, Knightworks Designs Ltd, McGunegill Engine Performance, Midas of Orangeville, North Toronto Auction, Ontario Oval, Race Time Radio, Race2way, Reinhardt Trailers, South Shore Services, Stefko Race Engines

Hanover Holiday Modified has Brent McLean taking the Feature Win and Gary McLean his 3’rd Championship

What won the race: Twenty three Hanover Holiday Modifieds signed in for completion for the 2014 Velocity weekend at Peterborough Speedway for the 22’nd Annual Autumn Colours Classic. Qualifying was split between the first two days of racing to determine the feature line up. Based on his win for the Chase for the Colours Max Beyore and Davey Terry would lead the field to green.  Max would take the early lead until the #2 of Matt Barton would take over on lap 4 and hold off all challenges until the halfway mark when the #7 of Brent McLean would assume the lead. Brent has had his fair share of bad luck this year, and firmly had the lead until a lap 48 caution brought the field back together. The #7 of McLean never slipped and came home the winner adding the Autumn Colours Classic to an already impressive resume. Max Beyore rebounded for a second place finish, with Nick Lees making his first OSCAAR start rounding out the top 3. Coming into the event Gary McLean had his 3rd championship in his pocket so the team came ready to race. The tight racing action saw the #8 climb the back wall early, and then a few laps later contact sent the #8 sliding to the infield wall ending their day.

Bad Luck of the Event: The #79 of John Harper has had a black cloud over his head for the 2014 season and I am sure he is looking forward to putting this season behind him. John suffered major damage in heat race action, by being in the wrong place wrong time. The damage proved to be too much to repair and ended their weekend early. Making his first start of the 2014 in preparation for a full time campaign in 2015, #20 Mike Hearty was the victim in second round qualifying and contact with the front stretch wall left the car with heavy damage.

Rookie Battle: Six Hanover Holiday Modified Rookies where in attendance this weekend at Peterborough Speedway. With his second place finish Max Beyore was the top finishing rookie and locked up the 2014 Rookie of the Year title. Gary Elliott again impressed and was awarded the second place in the rookie battle of 2014.  Tommy Robb, Terry Baker, Dustin Jackson and Chad Strawn rounded out the rookies on the weekend

Car Count: 23

Top Qualifier: #77 Chad Strawn

Pole Sitter: #91n Max Beyore

Heat Race Winners: #7 Brent McLean x2, #8 Gary McLean, #36 Gary Elliott, #2 Matt Barton,#61 Dustin Jackson

Top Five in points:  1st #8 Gary McLean 900pts, 2nd #91N Max Beyore 850 pts, 3rd #36 Gary Elliott 838 pts, 4th #14 Davey Terry 789 pts, 5th #88 Ryan Dick 763 pts

Feature Finish: 1) #7 Brent McLean, 2) #91n Max Beyore, 3) #09 Nick Lees, 4) #2 Matt Barton, 5) #36 Gary Elliott, 6) #88r Tommy Robb, 7) 79h Cory Horner, 8) #88 Ryan Dick, 9) #Drew Stieler, 10) #7m Arron McLean, 11) #26 Terry Baker, 12) #61 Dustin Jackson, 13) #93 Daniel Bois, 14) #67 Dwayne Cinnamon, 15) #65 Bill Burrows, 16) #19 Dean Scott, 17) Davey Terry, 18) #77 Chad Strawn, 19) #8 Gary McLean, 20) #47 Brian McLean, 21) Rob Warnes, 22) Mike Hearty (dns), 23) #79 John Harper (dns)

OSCAAR 2014 Partners: Crane CamsHanover Holidays, Hoosier Tire, Jenco Equipment, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, Knightworks Designs Ltd, McGunegill Engine Performance, Midas of Orangeville, North Toronto Auction, Ontario Oval, Race Time Radio, Race2way, Reinhardt Trailers, South Shore Services, Stefko Race Engines

Follow OSCAAR: on twitter @OSCAARRacing, on face book at OSCAAR Racing

Series PR – Dale Little Photo

OSCAAR Champions Crowned at Autumn Colours Classic