Tim Brown entered Saturday night just needing to finish within four spots of Burt Myers to win his 10th Modified championship at Winston-Salem, North Carolina’s Bowman Gray Stadium.  There were times throughout the 150-lap race where it seemed like Brown wouldn’t be able to do that, but at the end of it all it was Brown celebrating in the infield grass in front of a capacity crowd once again.


“I can’t believe it,” said Brown.  “Ten championships is just incredible.  And I’m so proud to be able to do it with all the same guys that I’ve been racing with for 20 years.  It’s just incredible.”


Tim Brown is a champion at Bowman Gray Stadium for the 10th time in his career. (Speed51.com photo)

Tim Brown is a champion at Bowman Gray Stadium for the 10th time in his career. (Speed51.com photo)

Brown started second, with Jason Myers to his inside on the front row, and Burt Myers one row behind in the third position.  Both Myers brothers quickly got by Brown to take control of the top two positions.  Meanwhile, Brown started to drop back.  By lap 50, Brown had fallen back to ninth while Burt Myers still held on to the second spot.


But as the laps wound down, Brown started to work his way back towards the front of the field.  The Myers brothers maintained the top spots as one-by-one, Brown closed the gap on Burt Myers.


Then disaster struck Burt Myers.  With five laps to go, Myers sputtered to a stop on the frontstretch as a near-capacity crowd erupted.   When the caution came out, Myers was pushed back to the pit area by a safety truck.


“We must have had a fuel pickup issue,” Burt Myers told Speed51.com powered by JEGS.  “We put fuel in it and it fired right back up, but it still had enough in it anyway.  I’m just glad it’s over.”


That set up a green-white-checkered finish, with Jason Myers still at the front of the field and Tim Brown in fifth.


Jason Myers was able to hold off Lee Jeffreys to score his seventh victory of 2015, and Brown stayed out of trouble to win the championship for the 10th time in his career.


The younger Myers brother’s seven wins is the most he’s ever recorded in a single season.  He also won the pole on Saturday night for the 10th

Jason Myers and friends celebrate his seventh win of 2015 at Bowman Gray Stadium. (Speed51.com photo)

Jason Myers and friends celebrate his seventh win of 2015 at Bowman Gray Stadium. (Speed51.com photo)

time in 2015, and led the most laps of anybody this season.


But even with Jason Myers having his name atop the list in just about each category for 2015, he didn’t win the championship.  However, Myers said that it isn’t bittersweet at all.


“Tim gets to celebrate his championship for one night,” Myers said.  “I got to celebrate seven times this year.  I like winning.  And I did a lot of that this season.  It takes a lot of luck to win at Bowman Gray Stadium.  We had luck on our side a lot this year.  Just not often enough to win the points championship.


“But my hat’s off to Tim.  He’s a 10-time champion for a reason.”


For an on-demand replay of Speed51.com’s Trackside Now coverage from Bowman Gray Stadium’s season finale presented by Liberty University, click here: http://speed51.com/trackside-now-championship-night-at-bowman-gray/


Speed51.com will have highlights from Saturday’s 150-lap season finale in the coming days, only on the 51 Network.  If you have yet to subscribe to the 51 Network, you can do so by clicking here: http://speed51.com/join-today/


-By Rob Blount, Speed51.com Northeast Editor – Twitter: @RobBlount

-Photo Credit: Speed51.com


Carolina Farm Credit Modified 150

Bowman Gray Stadium, Winston-Salem, North Carolina

Official Results

1 4 Jason Myers
2 77 Lee Jeffreys
3 71 Dean Ward
4 27 Jonathan Brown
5 83 Tim Brown
6 53 John Smith
7 5 Randy Butner
8 66 Ronnie Clifton
9 92 Brody Jones
10 44 Daniel Beeson
11 2 Joseph Brown
12 13 Chris Fleming
13 75 Robert Jeffreys
14 1 Burt Myers
15 16 William Smith
16 81 Austin Pack
17 21 Joe Ryan Osborne
18 12 Mike Norman

One Myers Wins, One Sputters, But Brown Stands Above All