CONCORD, N.C. – The 2014 World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series season drew to a close at World Finals. Daryn Pittman and Brian Brown scored the final two wins of the year as Donny Schatz wrapped up his sixth series championship.

From the end of full-time Outlaws competition for two legends, Steve Kinser and Sammy Swindell, to the first wins of seven different drivers, the 2014 season is defined in part by the numbers.

· 11,236 – the number of points Steve Kinser scored during his 1991 championship run – the previous record for the most points ever scored in a single season. In 2014, Donny Schatz broke that record with 12,427 points.

· 173 – the total number of career World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series wins for Donny Schatz.

· 98 – the percentage of events completed during the 2014 World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series season. There were only two rainouts all season.

· 88 – the number of features completed during the 2014 season.

· 49 – the car number for Brad Sweet, the 2014 Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year

· 26 – the number of wins Donny Schatz has accumulated throughout the season. It is the winningest single season of his career.

· 24 – the number of quick times Joey Saldana has scored during the 2014 season

· 24 – the number of different winners during the 2014 season – a record for the series.

· 20 – This season was the first since Steve Kinser’s 2002 and 2003 seasons that the series has seen a driver score back-to-back 20+ win seasons.

· 6 – the number of World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series championships Donny Schatz has accumulated throughout his career.

· 7 – the number of first-time winners during the 2014 season (Rico Abreu, Christopher Bell, Ryan Smith, Carson Macedo, Roger Crockett, Jonathan Allard and Brian Brown).

· 3 – Donny Schatz’s position on the list of winningest drivers in series history

· 2 – the number of high-profile retirements this season. The two winningest drivers in the series history, Steve Kinser and Sammy Swindell wrapped up their full-time driving careers in 2014.

· .005 – Kerry Madsen’s win margin over Kyle Hirst at Antioch Speedway – the closest finish in Outlaw history.


-World of Outlaws Press Release.  Photo Credit: Brenda Meserve/ Photo

Numbers Tell the Story of 2014 WoO STP Sprint Car Season