INDIANAPOLIS – With a new name, owner, format and racing venues the NSTA Top Speed Modified Tour kicks off the 2017 season with the Cabin Fever 40 at Lucas Oil Raceway.


The “Kickin’ Asphalt Tour” starts with the Cabin Fever 40 on Sunday in conjunction with the Champion Racing Association Street Stocks, Sportsman Late Models and the Vores Compact Touring Series. Racing starts at 2 p.m. with adult tickets priced at $20 and children 12 and under admitted free.


Sunday’s race is the first of the 18 race schedule for the tour that was purchased by John Robbins.


Robbins is the nephew of the late Rex Robbins, who founded the American Speed Association in 1968 and was known for bringing innovations to stock car racing.


“From a very young age, I always dreamed of following in my uncle’s footsteps,” Robbins said. “To have this opportunity now is a dream come true.”


During the season the tour will visit tracks in Indiana, Missouri, Michigan, Ohio and Tennessee.


One of the most anticipated races of the year will take place on May 20 when the NSTA is part of the Short Track U.S. Nationals at Bristol Motor Speedway for a 50-lap feature.


Robbins announced that the winners of the first four races of the year at Lucas Oil Raceway, Anderson Speedway, Berlin Raceway and South Bend Motor Speedway are locked into the main event at Bristol.


There are 66 drivers that have registered to compete with the tour in 2017 from six states including 2016 champions Ohio driver Bob Sibila in the South Division and Michigan driver Mike Occhipinti in the North Division.


Well know Midwestern modified drivers like Jeff Lane, Harold Scott, R.J. Norton III, Brian Nester and Mike Hadley Jr. plan to compete with the NTSA this season.


A $10,000 point fund has been established, an additional incentive for drivers competing on the tour that was first formed in 1989, with the Champion earning $2,000 and $1,000 going to the Rookie of the Year.


Robbins said the NSTA will be using a NASCAR style playoff system with the final seven races determining a champion with a winner take all event at the Winchester 400 weekend on Oct. 7.


The race winners from the first ten races and the point leaders will make up a field of 12 drivers vying for the championship. Four will be eliminated in the first round, consisting of three races and four more after the next three events.


During the 2017 season the NSTA will visit 12 historic racing venues with three visits to Winchester Speedway (IN) and Auto City Speedway (MI) two stops at Lucas Oil Raceway (IN) and races at Berlin Raceway (MI), Toledo Speedway (OH), Dixie Motor Speedway (MI) and Whittemore Speedway (MO) for a special non-points 100-lap event.


New tracks on the schedule include two stops at Anderson Speedway (IN), South Bend Motor Speedway (IN), Kalamazoo Speedway (MI), I-44 Speedway (MO) and Bristol Motor Speedway (TN).


-NSTA Top Speed Modified Tour Press Release. Photo credit:

NSTA Top Speed Modifieds Kick Off New Era This Sunday