Notes and quotes from the 2014 ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards post-season banquet held Saturday at the Indiana Convention Center:


Three ARCA touring series champions made an early appearance at Saturday’s banquet, each receiving a jacket honoring their championship and were given a chance to address the audience.

ARCA Truck Series champion Danny Jackson won six poles and scored five wins in eight races en route to his title.

“It’s an honor to come out here and celebrate with you guys,” Jackson said.

ARCA/CRA Super Series champ Travis Braden is a two-time defending champion in that series.

“I take a lot of pride in being the ARCA/CRA Super Series champion,” Braden said. “It feels great to be here.”

Ty Majeski won the ARCA Midwest Tour title. In his speech, he recounted how his team overcame some adversity to narrowly win the title at the season finale at LaCrosse Speedway.


Veteran race car driver Ken Schrader was on stage Saturday as the sixth-place owner. He said he wasn’t sure of the details for Ken Schrader Racing in 2015, but said the team expects to have plenty of the ARCA Racing Series in its future.

“I’m very glad to be part of the ARCA series and we’ll be there for all 20 races with Federated Car Care as our sponsor,” Schrader said. “I’m very excited about the new body with the ARCA Ilmor engine and very excited for the new season.”


The three surprise winners at Saturday’s banquet included the Marcum Award recipients Briggs Cunningham and Scherer of Cunningham Motorsports; Nick Ramey, the Spirit Award, and H.G. Adcox Sportsmanship Award winner Grant Enfinger.

Two of the three recipients have won surprise awards before at the ARCA banquet. Ramey was the 2011 Sportsmanship winner while Scherer won the Spirit award in 2010.


Jeff Myers Jr. of Temperance, Michigan, was announced as the winner of the Bob Loga Memorial Scholarship.

Myers is a licensed ARCA Sportsman Division driver and was the ARCA Truck Series Rookie of the Year this past season. He will attend Purdue University.


Tom Hessert finished the season in third place in the driver point standings, tied for his personal best. He also was third in 2010.

“I thought this was his best year of racing,” Scherer said. “He’s a class act and represents Cunningham so well and represents the series so well.”


Ford took home the Manufacturer’s Award, a trophy that will be proudly displayed at the company headquarters in Dearborn, Michigan.

“It’s a big thing for all of us in Dearborn,” said Mike Delahanty, Ford product manager, engines and engine components.

-ARCA Racing Series Press Release.  Photo Credit: ARCA Racing Series

Notes and Quotes: ARCA Banquet