Wenatchee, Wash. — With the new season kicking off April 6 at Yakima Speedway and the running of the 52nd Annual Apple Cup 125, the Northwest Super Late Model Series is revamping two year-end awards to honor men who left a tremendous mark on the series.


Going forward any car owner winning the series championship will receive the Bruce Latta Championship Car Owner’s trophy. Latta, who passed away in late 2018, fielded cars in the series, sponsored behind the scenes many drivers in the Northwest and was instrumental in the NWSLMS obtaining its timing and scoring system.


“Bruce was always willing to help this series and others before it, and he did it because of his passion for the sport and commitment to keeping a Super Late Model touring division alive and well in the Northwest,” noted NWSLMS Director, Jarrod Goodwin. “His help with obtaining the timing and scoring system, willingness to work with our team to get it up and running and also entering cars in our events are just some of the many things about Bruce that we hold dear. To honor him with this award given to a championship owner with the passions to succeed will be a great gesture towards Bruce and his legacy within Northwest racing circles.”


Beginning with the 2019 season, the series will honor the championship team’s crew chief with the Scott Steinbach Award. Steinbach was an official with the series, crew chief in his own right, official at various tracks across the region and well respected by his peers and race teams.


Steinbach passed away over the 2018 Christmas season.


“Our team goes forward this year without Scott and it’s with a heavy heart,” Goodwin said. “We miss him and will miss his contributions to the series and the sport. You’ve never heard a word spoken negatively of Scott in the racing circles. He’s a tremendous mechanic that helped local drivers and made our inspection process run smooth. You’d find Scott in the pits during our events making sure safety was in place for teams and drivers when repairs we’re needed, he’d be ready to answer questions and always say that if he didn’t know he’d get the answer and be right back to the team. Presenting this award to the championship crew chief we feel is a true reflection of what Scott’s passions were; leading a championship-winning race team.


The chase for the 2019 NWSLMS Championship begins April 6-7 with the Apple Cup 125. Yakima Speedway pit gates open at 7 a.m. on Saturday with practices throughout the morning, qualifying and trophy dashes in the afternoon and the 125-lap main event run on Sunday afternoon.


For tickets and other information visit nwslms.com or yakimaspeedway.us


The Northwest Super Late Model Series is the premier Super Late Model touring series in the Northwest. The series has many valued partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, McGunegill Engine Performance, Port City Race Cars, AR Bodies, Joes Racing Products, Accelerated Graphics, Five Star Bodies, Longacre Racing Products, Wheel Chill, KRC Power Steering, Atomic Screenprinting and Embroidery, Franks Racing Radio, BLP, Jefferson Pitts Racing, Leonard Evans Used Car Super Store, The Ti Company, Pacific Steel Structures LLC and Racing Dynamics. For more information on the series visit www.nwslms.com or on Facebook or Twitter. To contact the series please email [email protected].


-Northwest Super Late Model Series Press Release

Northwest Super Late Model Series to Honor Longtime Contributors