North Carolina Race Track Closes for 2020 Season

East Carolina Motor Speedway has announced on its website it will not operate in 2020, barring a lease or sale of the Robersonville, North Carolina facility.


“The owner has announced that ECMS will not reopen for the 2020 race season unless it is leased or sold,” an announcement on the track’s website read.  “ECMS would like to thank all the drivers and fans that have supported ECMS throughout the years.”


The 3/8-mile oval opened in 1990.  Along with hosting NASCAR Whelen All-American Series competition and the annual Ronnie Barnette Memorial for Late Model Stock Cars, the venue also hosted a NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour event in 2016 won by Bobby Measmer, Jr.


Thomas Burbage won the 2019 track championship at East Carolina Motor Speedway, edging out Wesley Johnson in the title hunt.  Johnson was searching for his fifth track championship at the facility.


Winners of the Ronnie Barnette Memorial include Louis White (2014 and 2016), Deac McCaskill (2015), Thomas Burbage (2017), Brenden Queen (2018) and Clay Jones (2019).


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51 Content Supervisor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: East Carolina Motor Speedway Facebook

North Carolina Race Track Closes for 2020 Season