North Carolina Driver Powers to FUEL/I-95 Win at Lake View

LAKE VIEW, SC – Fair Bluff, NC’s Dean Bowen powered to one of the biggest wins of his career Saturday night at Lake View Motor Speedway taking the checkered flag in the FUEL Racing Series/I-95 Challenge Series Late Models.




“It’s been a long time coming, I sat out a season and we’ve been struggling with the old car and finally brought out the new car,” said Bowen afterwards. “I don’t know how much longer we will go, but if it keeps on going like this we might stick around a while.”


Bowen turned the fastest lap of the season in qualifying at 16.700 seconds over the 24-car field and would go on to start on the pole in the feature by winning heat race #1. Michael Rouse was the winner of heat #2 and Taylor Puckett took the win in heat #3.


At the start of the 30-lap main event, Rouse would get the advantage from the outside pole to take the lead over Bowen and Willie Milliken. The first caution of the night waved on lap five when Puckett lost an engine entering turn three. On the restart, Rouse would continue to lead until he stalled in turn four with mechanical problems, ending his night early.


Now with Bowen in the lead, Milliken and Christian Thomas would fall in line to challenge for the top spot. The leaders set a torrid pace closing in on the rear of the field with five laps to go. FUEL points leader Russell Erwin moved from the seventh starting position to fourth, joining the lead trio in the final laps. With no margin for error, Bowen held on to take the win over Milliken, Thomas, Erwin, and Timmy Blackwell. Rounding out the top ten were Shaun Harrell, Dustin Mitchell, Zach Cox, Ethan Wilson, and Cody Wright.


Heat race winners Daniel Parker and Daulton Wilson started on the front row for the SRI Dirt Cup Challenge Open Wheel Modified feature, with Parker getting the advantage and leading flag-to-flag for his second straight win of the season. Following Parker and Wilson at the finish were John Marshall, Ryan Toole, and Wayne Gray.


Donovan Jackson finally got the monkey off his back to win his first Mod-Lite feature of the season at Lake View. Dustin Watkins was seeking his third straight win, but would spin in turn one on the first lap. Stephen Ford led early before being passed for the lead by Jackson on the outside with seven laps to go. Following Jackson and Ford at the finish were Mason Ford, Watkins, and Troy Van Allen.


Josh Sanoske started on the pole and led flag-to-flag to take the Legends car win. Ronnie Long started second but would spin in turn four while running third. Daniel Adam and Robert Pfouts both had top five runs going but would be eliminated in a crash with five laps to go. Following Sanoske at the checkered flag were Tristen Stephenson, Scott Neighbors, Joseph Sanoske, and Earl Farmer.


Sawyer Davis was the Junior Sprint winner over Wyatt Kitchen, Hunter Matthews, Nathan Cumbee, and Joshua Culbreth.


The next event at Lake View Motor Speedway will be next Saturday night, August 29th, featuring double points for the Super Street division, plus a $500 bounty to anyone that can outrun Ron Pope. The Late Models will also be in action, along with the 602 Modifieds, Crate Racin’ USA Street Stocks, SCDRA Sport Compacts, and the Bell & Bell Vintage Cars. Be sure to “Like” Lake View Motor Speedway on Facebook, follow @LakeViewDirt on Twitter to keep up on all that’s going on in 2020 or visit


-Lake View Motor Speedway Press Release and Photo

North Carolina Driver Powers to FUEL/I-95 Win at Lake View