Nocella Storms to Another Oxford Modified Triumph

Anthony Nocella came alive at the right time during Saturday night’s Modified Racing Series feature at Oxford Plains Speedway.  After spending the majority of the 75-lapper conserving, he made his charge, taking the lead from Stew McCormack in the final 20 laps and holding off a stiff challenge from Super Late Model standout Joey Doiron to take the win.

WATCH LIVE: 48th Annual Oxford 250

His day didn’t get off to the best start on paper, falling to fifth in his heat race.  Even after his heat, Nocella still felt he had a car that could contend for the win.  However, it wouldn’t come without a late charge from Doiron, who was making his Tour-Type Modified debut.  Doiron would spin following a restart with two laps to go, handing the win to Nocella.


“We had problems during the day but all in all we had a pretty fast car all day.  It was a heck of a battle there, we’ve won here a few times before but that’s probably the hardest I’ve ever had to work for one here,” Nocella said on the Speed51.TV broadcast.

Joey, especially for his first time in one, he had a really good run.  He really made me work for it.  We got really close on those restarts, I’m not sure what had happened.  All in all, we had a really good car and I’m happy we were finally able to get a win in this new car.

With his win with MRS Saturday night, Nocella has now won four races at Oxford in seven starts between Modifieds and Midgets.  He considers the 3/8ths mile as one of his favorites and enjoys getting to the facility when he can.


“I always love coming to this place.  It’s one of my favorite tracks and it always puts on such a great race.  This place is always tough on tires so we just rode early so we’d be good for the end because we knew Joey would be good with all the laps he’s run here.”


Jacob Perry would capitalize on a late series of restarts to finish second.  Brian Robie, David Arute and Rob Richardi rounded out the top-five.


-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51 National Correspondent – Twitter: @kgeyer3
-Photo Credit: Speed51 Photo


Modified Racing Series Results:

  1. Anthony Nocella
  2. Jacob Perry
  3. Brian Robie
  4. David Arute
  5. Rob Richardi
  6. Kevin Iannarelli
  7. Andy Shaw
  8. Chris Bolton
  9. Joey Doiron
  10. Stew McCormack
  11. Donnie Lashua
  12. Tony Ricci
  13. Ryan Doucette
  14. Anthony Bello
  15. George Sherman
  16. Sal Accardi
  17. Cam Sontag

Nocella Storms to Another Oxford Modified Triumph