BARRE, VERMONT — Starting from the pole position, Barre, Vermont’s Nick Sweet wouldn’t give away his strategy before the start of Thursday night’s Vermont Governor’s Cup 150 at Thunder Road Speedbowl.  Once the green flag was waved, the two-time VT Governor’s Cup winner’s strategy quickly became apparent.

Sweet powered out to a commanding lead during the early stages of the race and led wire-to-wire on his way to claiming the 35th Annual Vermont Governor’s Cup in dominating fashion on a beautiful Thursday night at “The Nation’s Site of Excitement.”

“We had just a phenomenal racecar tonight,” Sweet told powered by JEGS.  “It was almost too easy to drive, so it’s good.  I know traffic at one point was starting to make me a little bit nervous because Derek (O’Donnell) was trailing us pretty good, but we just had a better piece at the end of the day.”

Four cautions slowed Sweet’s pace with the last of them coming on lap 93.  After leading every lap but the last one earlier this year during the Memorial Day Classic at Thunder Road, Sweet was praying for the race to stay clean and green during the later stages of the race.

“I was hoping for no cautions at the end,” said Sweet.  “My brother, who is my spotter, was telling me I needed to lag back but I was like, ‘Man, I’ve just got to get this thing over with.  I can’t lose another race like this.’”

With the win on Thursday night, Sweet continues to build an impressive resume in some of the most prestigious races at Thunder Road.  In addition to wins in the Milk Bowl, Labor Day Classic and Memorial Day Classic, Sweet now has a total of three career Vermont Governor’s Cup 150 wins.

“Three times, that’s a feat right there,” said Sweet.  “I’m really proud of everybody associated with Sweet Racing.  The sponsors keep us afloat.  What better to do it on a beautiful night like this, it was a beautiful night.”

2013 King of the Road Derrick O’Donnell started from the third position and quickly jumped into the runner-up spot.  O’Donnell would not be challenged for the second spot, but couldn’t find enough to challenge Sweet for the race win.

2014 Memorial Day Classic winner Jason Corliss, seven-time American-Canadian Tour champion Jean-Paul Cyr and Trampas Demers completed the top-five.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Clint Bowyer entered the VT Governor’s Cup for the second straight season in the Richard Green Racing No. 16.  Bowyer started from the 11th spot and made it as high as fourth before a mid-race spin relegated him to a 14th-place finish.

Race winner Nick Sweet was able to put Bowyer one lap down during the later stages of the race and the hometrack favorite was happy to be able to swap some paint with Bowyer on the race track.

“I even got to rub doors with him,” said Sweet.   “Going down the frontstretch, I made sure to touch him just to make sure I could say I’ve rubbed doors with Clint Bowyer.”

35th Annual VT Governor’s Cup 150 presented by VP S.E.F.
Thunder Road – Barre, VT
Thursday, July 10, 2014

VT Governor’s Cup 150 Unofficial Results
Pos. (Start) Driver, Hometown, Laps Completed
1. (1) Nick Sweet, Barre, VT, 150 Laps

2. (3) Derrick O’Donnell, N. Haverhill, NH, 150 Laps

3. (9) Jason Corliss, Barre, VT, 150 Laps

4. (4) Jean-Paul Cyr, Milton, VT, 150 Laps

5. (5) Trampas Demers, S. Burlington, VT, 150 Laps

6. (30) John Donahue, Graniteville, VT, 150 Laps

7. (16) Brooks Clark, Fayston, VT, 150 Laps

8. (6) Phil Scott, Middlesex, VT, 150 Laps

9. (12) Cody Blake, Barre, VT, 150 Laps

10. (13) Dave Pembroke, Middlesex, VT, 150 Laps

11. (7) Shawn Fleury, Middlesex, VT, 150 Laps

12. (21) #Eric Badore, Milton, VT, 150 Laps

13. (8) #Brandon Atkins, AuSable Forks, NY, 150 Laps

14. (11) Clint Bowyer, Emporia, KS, 149 Laps

15. (17) Tyler Cahoon, St. Johnsbury, VT, 149 Laps

16. (2) Emily Packard, E. Montpelier, VT, 149 Laps

17. (20) Scott Dragon, Colchester, VT, 149 Laps

18. (19) Jimmy Hebert, Williamstown, VT, 149 Laps

19. (26) Eric Chase, Milton, VT, 149 Laps

20. (28) #Jason Allen, Barre, VT, 148 Laps

21. (18) Joey Laquerre, East Montpelier, VT, 148 Laps

22. (31) Mike Bailey, Barre, VT, 148 Laps

23. (24) #Josh Demers, Montpelier, VT, 148 Laps

24. (25) Brett Gervais, Island Pond, VT, 148 Laps

25. (22) Kyle Pembroke, Montpelier, VT, 148 Laps

26. (15) #Lance Allen, Barre, VT, 83 Laps

27. (23) Boomer Morris, Barre, VT, 77 Laps

28. (14) Chip Grenier, Graniteville, VT, 44 Laps

29. (29) Jeff Marshall, Lunenburg, VT, 36 Laps

30. (10) Joey M. Laquerre, E. Montpelier, VT, 13 Laps

31. (27) David Whitcomb, Essex Jct., VT, 8 Laps

Lap Leaders: Nick Sweet 1-150

Time of Race: 47:31

Margin of Victory: 2.187 seconds

Cautions: 4 (Laps 1, 68, 70, 93)

-By Brandon Paul, Northeast Editor – Twitter: @Brandon_Paul51. Photo Credit:

Nick Sweet Gets Sweet Revenge in Gov-Cup at T-Road