Event:  The RJ Allen Inc. 100 presented by Traffic Management Inc. will be the first event of the 2019 SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series presented by Lucas Oil championship season.  It will feature two 50-lap segments, which will be scored separately.  The top-10 from the first segment will be inverted at the front of the field for the beginning of segment number two.  The overall winner will be determined from the best average finish of both segments.  Where there are ties, the best finisher in the second segment will gain the better overall finish.


Location:  Irwindale Speedway will be hosting the season-opening event for only the second time in SRL history.  In 2017, Bobby Hodges outdueled Derek Thorn and Willie Allen to score the thrilling victory in the SPEARS Manufacturing 100.  All three of those drivers are entered this weekend.  Irwindale has hosted a total of 14 SPEARS Southwest Tour Series events, with Derek Thorn and M.K. Kanke both taking home three victories, the most of any drivers in series history.  Kanke also holds three victories in the NASCAR Southwest Tour Series to lead all drivers.


Winner’s Bonus:  The winner will receive $5,000 for the victory, thanks to the “Winner’s Bonus” sponsored by Senneker Performance.


Where the Champions Race:  No fewer than eight Super Late Model touring series champions, representing 15 championships, are entered in this weekend’s event.  Craig Raudman (2001 NASCAR Southwest Tour), Eric Schmidt (2006 SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour, 2013 Pacific Challenge Series),  Jacob Gomes (2015 SRL), John Moore (2015 PCS), M.K. Kanke (2009 SRL), Derek Thorn (2012, 2014, 2016, 2017 SRL), Preston Peltier (2010 PASS South, 2010 PASS National) and Jeremy Doss (2018 SRL, 2012 & 2016 PCS) all have won at least one championship in touring Super Late Model competition.


Winners: Eleven drivers entered this weekend have Southwest Tour Series victories.  Sixteen drivers have Super Late Model touring series wins.


First Timers:  Five drivers are scheduled to make their first SPEARS Southwest Tour Series debuts.  Cody Dempster, Jessie Love, Preston Peltier, Barry Conoyer and Don Zoll Jr. have all entered a SRL race for the first time.


Rookies:  Five Rookie of the Year competitors have entered this weekend’s event.  Tyler Fabozzi, Eric Nascimento Jr., Cody Dempster, Jessie Love and Toby Becker will represent the class of 2019.


Nineteen:  This will be the nineteenth season for the SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series.  The 2018 season featured an average car count of 25.9 for championship events.  That was the second highest in series history behind the 26.6 set in 2010.


MAVTV:  The championship season-opening event will be shown on MAVTV on a tape-delayed basis.  The time and date of the broadcast will be announced at a later date.


Record Field:  Thirty-five drivers are currently entered, as of Tuesday, March 19, for this weekend’s RJ Allen Inc. 100 presented by Traffic Management Inc.  The current SRL record for Irwindale Speedway is 30 cars, set in September of 2010.  The all-time record is 37, set at Altamont Raceway Park in 2004.


Race Day Schedule:  1:00 PM – 2:00 PM: SPEARS Southwest Tour Series Final Practice, 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM: SPEARS Modified Series Final Practice, 3:00 PM – 3:30 PM: Southwest Tour Trucks, 4:15  PM – 4:30 PM: Southwest Tour Trucks Qualifying, 4:45 PM – 5:15 PM: SPEARS Southwest Tour Series Qualifying, 5:15 PM – 5:45 PM: SPEARS Modified Series Qualifying, 5:45 PM – 6:30 PM: Autograph Session, 6:45 PM:  Opening Ceremonies,  6:55 PM: National Anthem, followed by; Southwest Tour Trucks: Main Event, SPEARS Modified Series: 40 Lap Segment #1*, SPEARS Southwest Tour Series: 50 Lap Segment #1*, SPEARS Modified Series: 40 Lap Segment #2*, SPEARS Southwest Tour Series: 50 Lap Segment #2*

*Best Average Score from Segment #1 and #2 Wins.  Ties will be broken by the best finish in the second segment.


About the SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series presented by Lucas Oil: Celebrating its 19th season in 2019, the SPEARS Southwest Tour Series is a regional stock car series competing on paved ovals in the southwestern portion of the U.S. http://www.srlsouthwesttour.com. “The SPEARS Southwest Tour Series……Where the Champions Race.”


Pre-Entry List as of March 19, 2019:

  1. 2 Craig Raudman
  2. 05 Eric Schmidt
  3. 6 Tyler Fabozzi*
  4. 08 Jace Hansen
  5. 10 Dylan Lupton
  6. 16 Jacob Gomes
  7. 18p Preston Peltier
  8. 18w Jack Wood
  9. 20f Dennis Furden
  10. 20m Cole Moore
  11. 21n Eric Nascimento*
  12. 21r Blaine Rocha
  13. 24d Cody Dempster*
  14. 24s Scott Sanchez
  15. 26 Andy Allen
  16. 27 John Moore
  17. 33c Cale Kanke
  18. 33k K. Kanke
  19. 38 Jesse Love*
  20. 43 Derek Thorn
  21. 44 Bob Lyon
  22. 45r Bear Rzesnowiecky
  23. 45w Willie Allen
  24. 50 Trevor Huddleston
  25. 51 Carlos Vieira
  26. 54 Joe Farre’
  27. 64 Matt Meech
  28. 66 Jeff Bischofberger
  29. 71 Kyle Neveau
  30. 75 Jeremy Doss
  31. 77 Toby Becker
  32. 89 Bobby Hodges
  33. 98c Barry Conoyer
  34. 98z Don Zoll Jr.
  35. 99 Linny White


-Story and Photos by: Kevin Peters, SRL

News and Notes: SRL Season Opener at Irwindale Speedway