New Smyrna Speedway officials have released the latest batch of pre-entries for the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing, scheduled to begin on Friday, February 9. The Tour-type Modified list was the biggest grower this time around as the event gets ready to begin in a little more than one week’s time.


Headlining the newest crop of pre-entries is three-time defending Tour-type Modified champion, Ryan Preece. The Berlin, CT driver will be back in Florida looking for a fourth championship in a row for his TS Haulers team owned by Eddie and Connie Partridge.


300x250 New Smyrna World Series 2018Joining Preece on the Tour-type Modified entry list is Northampton, Pennsylvania standout, Matt Hirschman. The man known as “Big Money Matt” scored one victory last year in his return to the World Series. That win came in the finale of the week, the Richie Evans Memorial 100.


Also on the entry list are a few notable regulars from the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour. Timmy Solomito won four NWMT races in 2017, and he will be back in Florida for the second year in a row. Also new to the entry list from the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour are Craig Lutz and Ronnie Williams.


RoC Asphalt Modified Tour regular Tyler Rypkema has filed a pre-entry as well. Rypkema surprised the Modified world in 2017 by winning at New Smyrna on the second night of action.


The man that Rypkema held off to capture the win was New York native, Jimmy Zacharias. The Candor, New York native is returning to New Smyrna hoping to improve on his best points finish of third, which came in 2013.


Joining the aforementioned drivers on the Tour-type Modified entry list are Mike Willis Jr., Jimmy Blewett, Kyle Trayner, Joe DeGracia, Al Emmarino, Kyle Ebersole, Jeffrey Gallup, Eric Goodale and JR Bertuccio.


The Florida Modified division now has five names officially on the pre-entry list. Doug Moff of Ft Myers, Florida will be back once again. He will be joined by Alan Bruns, Robert Deal, Scott Pierson and Ricky Moxley.


Two drivers have added their names to the pre-entry list for the Pro Late Model division. Kevin Folan will be making the trip south from Attleboro, Massachusetts, and David Weaver will be making a much shorter trip from Plantation, Florida.


The Super Late Model pre-entry list doubled in size with the additions of Russ Shaw of Lakeland, Florida and Steve Weaver from Plantation, Florida. will be on-hand for every single night of racing during the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing with live Trackside Now coverage and more.


-By Rob Blount, Southeast Editor – Twitter: @RobBlount

-Photo credit:


Pro Late Models
No. Driver
1 Todd Stone
5 Michael Clancy
11 David Weaver
17 Kevin Folan
73 Peter McVey
81 Giovanni Bromante
Super Late Models
No. Driver
12x Derek Griffith
12 Harrison Burton
68 Russ Shaw
112 Steve Weaver
Tour-type Modifieds
No. Driver
2 Ronnie Williams
2x JR Bertuccio
4 Jeffrey Gallup
5 Kyle Ebersole
6 Ryan Preece
16 Timmy Solomito
21 Al Emmarino
23 Joe DeGracia
32 Tyler Rypkema
40 Kyle Trayner
46 Craig Lutz
58 Eric Goodale
60 Matt Hirschman
71 Jimmy Zacharias
83 Mike Willis
179 Jimmy Blewett
Florida Modifieds
No. Driver
4B Alan Bruns
15 Robert Deal
33 Scott Pierson
38 Ricky Moxley
46 Doug Moff

New Smyrna Releases Updated World Series Entry List