New Smyrna Names Tech Official for Tour-type Modifieds

With entries flying in each day for the 2020 World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing at New Smyrna Speedway, track officials have announced the hiring of a Tech Director for the Tour-type Modified division.  The news comes following the departure of veteran tech official Ricky Brooks at the end of the 2019 season.


Robert Pettit, who has previously held roles with the Southern Modified Racing Series, Bowman Gray Stadium and Caraway Speedway, will handle the technical inspection duties for all five nights of Tour-type Modified racing.


New Smyrna Speedway General Manager Rusty Marcus confirmed the news with Speed51 on Thursday.


“We’ve got 35 Tour Modifieds lined up already and they’re still coming in,” Marcus said. “We think this year’s World Series is going to be the best yet and we think that this fit with Robert is going to be a big deal. We’re looking forward to an absolutely incredible 2020.”


Pettit brings many years of experience to the table; however, this will be his first World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.  Attending and being involved with the busy week at New Smyrna Speedway is something that he’s looking forward to.


“I was very excited,” Pettit said. “I’ve always wanted to go down and see the guys running down there. I got the call and told Rusty I’d be interested. Once we got everything nailed down, we decided we’d make it down. Me and one of my officials, Jerry Reeves. Hopefully he and I will go down there, have a good time and see some good racing.”


While Pettit handles technical inspection for the Tour-type Modifieds, the Champion Racing Association (CRA) and Chief Technical Inspector Eddie Chew will be handling the process for the rest of the divisions competing during the nine-day event.


Currently, a strong field of 34 Tour-type Modifieds are entered and planning to compete during the five nights of racing, beginning on Monday, February 10. The full entry list can be viewed below.


Driver’s planning to compete during the World Series are encouraged to enter at the following link:


For more information on the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing, visit


– Story by Allick Jorgensen, National Correspondent – Twitter: @AJorgensen24

– Photo credit: Speed51


Tour Type Modified Entry List (As of 1/23/20)

2 – J.R Bertuccio Franklin, TN

4 – Jeffrey Gallup Feeding Hills, MA

5 – Kyle Ebersole Mooresville, NC

6 – Ryan Preece Berlin, CT

7 – Rich Parker Forked River, NJ

12 – Joe Bertuccio Statesville, NC

14 – Broc Brown Shickshinny, PA

16 – Anthony Sesely Port Monmouth, NJ

17 – Jeremy Gestner Tampa, FL

21 – Paul Townsend Guelph, ON

21 – Jimmy Blewett Howell, NJ

21 – Jimmy Zacharias Condor, NY

22 – Eddie McCarthy Brick, NJ

23 – Joe Degracia Lyndhurst, NJ

24 – Dean Rypkema Owego, NY

25 – Brian Robie Sunapee, NH

26 – Bubba Pollard Senoia, GA

27 – Adam LaCicero, Lavallette, NJ

32 – Tyler Rypkema Owego, NY

36 – David Sapienza Riverhead, NY

41 – Kevin Shea Mystic, CT

45 – Brett Meservey Brewsyer, MA

45 – Timmy Catalano Ontario, NY

54 – Tommy Catalano Ontario, NY

55 – John Gerstner Wesley Chapel, FL

56 – Amy Catalano Ontario, NY

56 – Craig Lutz Miller Place, NY

58 – Eric Goodale Riverhead, NY

59 – Teddy Cranmer North Hanover, NJ

60 – Matt Hirschman North Hampton, PA

83 – Mike Willis JR Grantham, NH

92 – Anthony Nocella Woburn, MA

07 – Patrick Emerling Holland, NY

09 – Brad Vanhouten Wading River, NY



New Smyrna Names Tech Official for Tour-type Modifieds