It was a beautiful sunny day at Wiscasset Speedway (ME) this past Saturday.  Fans packed the grandstands to watch a fabulous lineup of events.  The Speedway celebrated “NEMA night” (Northeast Midget Association).  Both NEMA and NEMA Lites raced on the track and reached speeds of over 100 MPH.   Saturday’s event was the first time in forty-two years the Midgets have visited the track, NEMA drivers and fans alike were left wanting a return to the track next year.

Starting on the pole for the 30-lap feature was the #16 of Matt O’Brien.  Behind him were the #87 of Doug Cleveland and the #13 of Ryan Bigelow.  When the green flag was waved, O’Brien was left behind as Cleveland, Bigelow, and the #21 of Jim Chambers passed him.  A caution on lap 4 gave the #29 of Ian Cumens the chance he needed to join the race leaders.  Chambers fell back and Cumens completed the pass to take third.

Ryan Bigelow with the lead, Cleveland in second, and Cumens in third were dominating the track through the early stages of the race.  However, coming up from the back of the pack was the #47 of Randy Cabral.  Cabral was running fast laps, and completed the fastest lap of the night taking only 13.47 seconds to get around the 3/8-mile oval.

Cabral was looking for his chance to pass and when a caution was called during lap 17, Cabral took advantage of the restart and followed Cumens as they both passed Cleveland.  The #15A of Avery Stoehr also passed Cleveland to take the third spot.

Cabral was not satisfied with second place, and when an opportunity arose during lap 19, he passed Cumens for the lead.

Cabral would cruise to victory, Cumens finished second, and rounding out the top-three was Avery Stoehr.

In Victory Lane, Cabral said, “I am glad I saved it for Wiscasset.  I have had nothing but troubles with my car this season.  We needed this win.  My crew worked really hard to get this car running.  Thanks to them and K&N Engineering for this win.”

Wiscasset Speedway resumes racing action on June 14, 2014 with its group one line up of divisions: Napa Super Street, Prostock, Outlaw Mini, and New England 4 Cylinder Prostocks.  The flex event of the week is a Flagpole race which will wrap up the night. There will also be spectator drags during intermission. Details are available by visiting 



  1. #47 Randy Cabral, Kingston, MA
  2. #29 Ian Cumens, Lydell, PA
  3. #15A Avery Stoehr, Lakeville, MA
  4. #5B Bethany Stoehr, Bridgewater, MA
  5. #71 Seth Carlson, Brimfield, CT
  6. #99 Jim Santmaria, Burlington, CT
  7. #30 Paul Scally, Raynham, MA
  8. #39 Todd Bertrand, Suffield, CT
  9. #87 Doug Cleveland, Sudbury, MA
  10. #13 Ryan Bigelow, East Hampton, CT
  11. #46 Kenney Johnson, Bethany, CT
  12. #7 Joey Scanlon, NA
  13. #16 Matt Obrien, Wilmington, MA
  14. #21 Jim Chambers, Atkinson, NH
  15. #6 Frank Swan, Plymouth, ME

-Wiscasset Speedway Press Release. Photo Credit: Wiscasset Speedway Facebook

NEMA Introduces New Level of Speed to Wiscasset