More than 40 cars have been through the tech inspection today at Monroe, Washington’s Evergreen Speedway as the stars of the Super Late Model world prepare to do battle on Saturday night for a cool $25,000 check.  Bubba Pollard, the winner of the Winter Showdown, has headed back out west to try to duplicate his victory, but others, like Derek Thorn want to keep that from happening.


The Purse

This year’s Summer Showdown promises to pay out close to $125,000 in total purse money with at least $25,000 of that going straight into the winner’s pockets.


An additional $10-grand will be paid out to whichever driver is the overall best finisher between the Winter and Summer Showdowns.


The pole winner will also receive a $1,000 bonus.


Pollard Heads West

Bubba Pollard is one of the best drivers in Super Late Model racing today.  He’s won more than 50 Late Model races in the last five years.


When the Winter Showdown at Kern County Raceway (CA) was announced he knew it was a race he wanted to win.  Well, he did.


Pollard led 146 laps on the high banks of Kern to take home the $25,000 check at the end of that race.  Now he’s looking to do it again.


It’s a 2,690-mile trek for Pollard to travel from his hometown of Senoia, Georgia to Monroe, Washington’s Evergreen Speedway, but it’ll all be worth it if he takes home another big check.


Pollard took a brand new car to Kern in February.  It’s the same car that he’s using this weekend at Evergreen.  Pollard has said that this car has sat in the shop ever since it went to California, with the exception of one Southern Super Series race at Mobile International Speedway (AL).  He’s told in the past that it’s the best car in his stable and he wants to save it for the bigger races.


Thorn Wants A Bonus

Two-time SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour champion Derek Thorn is making his first start in the Summer Showdown this weekend.  Thorn finished third behind Pollard and Dalton Sargeant at the Winter Showdown in February, which makes him eligible for the $10,000 bonus for scoring the best overall finish between both Showdowns.


Thorn and Pollard are both eligible for the bonus, as well as six other drivers.  Dalton Sargeant is not racing this weekend at Evergreen.


Trackside Now powered by JEGS will bring its patented Trackside Now coverage to Evergreen Speedway for all three days of action, beginning with practice day on Thursday afternoon at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.


Race fans who cannot make it to Evergreen Speedway can follow all of the action from the Summer Showdown live on their desktops or in the palm of their hands with their mobile devices.


Current Entry List

00 Naima Lang Lynnwood, WA
05  Eric Schmidt  Roseville, CA
70  Jeff Knight  Monroe, WA
08  Greg Scott  Snohomish, WA
1  Shane Sawin  Snohomish, WA
3  Luke Selliken  Portland, OR
3  Brion Philley  Redmond, WA
4  Parker Stevens  Olympia, WA
5  Ryan Wells  Hingham, MT
7  Ron Eaton Tacoma, WA
8  John Urquhart  Port Coquitlam, BC
9  Kelly Mann  Monroe, WA
9  Dylan Lupton  Sacramento, CA
10  Owen Riddle  Naches, WA
10  John Boyatt  Graham, WA
12  Jessica Dana  Olympia, WA
12  Rod Johnson  Ontario, CA
13  Jeremiah Johnson, Lynnwood Wa
15  Taylor Riddle  Naches, WA
16  Daniel Moore  Snohomish, WA
16  Blake Williams  Spokane, WA
17  Trevor Emond  Leduc, AB
18  John Bender  Snohomish, WA
18  Will Hunholz  Vail, AZ
19  Korbin Thomas  Vancouver, BC
20  Jay Sauls   Tacoma, WA
20  Andy Sole    Quincy, WA
21 Blaine Rocha Oaksdale, Ca
22  Jonathan Gomez Twin Falls, ID
22  David Miller  Coquille, OR
22  John Lathrop Jr.    Puyallup, WA
26 Bubba Pollard, Senoia, Ga.
26  Jason Kooy    Seattle, WA
29 Greg Voigt, Santa Barbara, Ca.
30  Tyler Baker  Surrey, BC
31  Jason Fraser    Snohomish, WA
33 Dave Hemrich   Delta, BC
32  Mike Holden    Clearview, WA
36  David Miller    Coquille, OR
37  Mike Longton    Moxee, WA
39  Shane Harding    Vancouver, BC
39  Pete Harding    Langley, BC
43  Derek Thorn
47 Tony Becker Highland, Ca
54  Mike Obrist   Portland, OR
64  Garrett Evans    E. Wenatchee, WA
65  Tyler Tanner    Seattle, WA
68  Tim McDougald   Tacoma, WA
73  Gary Lewis   High Bridge, WA
75 Jeremy Doss Upper Lake, Ca
75  Brandon Scheiber  Maple Valley, WA
78 Joe Constance Seattle, Wa.
80 Jimmy Rabourn Seattle, Wa.
86 Tom Berrow  Coquitlam, BC
88  Jason Gilbert    Dublin, CA
89  Doni Wanat  Woodinville, WA
90  Molly Helmuth    Seattle, WA

By Rob Blount – Northeast Editor, – Twitter: @robblount

Nearly 50 SLMs at Evergreen for Summer Showdown