STAMFORD, Conn. — April 15, 2015 — NBC Sports today welcomed three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion crew chief Ray Evernham and seasoned broadcaster Ralph Sheheen to its growing lineup of motorsports experts. Evernham and Sheheen will handle coverage of NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour Events on NBCSN. The announcement was made today by Jeff Behnke, Vice President of NASCAR Production for NBC Sports and NBCSN.

2015 marks the 30th Anniversary season for the northeast-based NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour, which traces its roots back to the very first NASCAR-sanctioned race on the beach and road course at Daytona Beach, Fla. in 1948. Evernham, who began his remarkable career in motorsports working on short track race cars at age 15, will first team with Sheheen to cover the 41st running of the Icebreaker from Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park in Conn., airing on Saturday, April 18 at 12:30 a.m. ET (late Friday night). The complete NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour telecast schedule on NBCSN is listed below.

“We’re are thrilled to continue our 2015 NASCAR Touring Series with the knowledge and experience of Ray Evernham and Ralph Sheheen behind the microphone,” said Behnke. “This is a win for all race fans and the enthusiastic followers of the Whelen Modified Tours.”

NASCAR’s Whelen Modified Tours, the association’s only open-wheeled division, compete at historic short tracks spanning from New Hampshire to North Carolina. The southeast-based NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour was established in 2005 as a sister tour to the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour.

“I grew up watching and racing modifieds and still get goose bumps every time I watch them race,” said Evernham. “I am really looking forward to being part of NBCSN’s motorsports coverage.”

“Big power, open wheels and passionate fans—the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tours might be the coolest series in racing,” said Sheheen. “Ray and I are going to have a lot of fun calling these races.”

The appointment of Evernham and Sheheen follows previous NBC Sports NASCAR on-air announcements for analysts Jeff Burton, Steve Letarte, Kyle Petty and Dale Jarrett, race announcer Rick Allen, pre- and post-race host Krista Voda, and pit road reporters Marty Snider, Kelli Stavast, Mike Massaro and Dave Burns.

In 1983, Evernham teamed with Roger Penske and Jay Signore to resurrect the International Race of Champions (IROC) series, giving him an opportunity to work with and learn from legends such as Mario Andretti, A.J. Foyt, Dale Earnhardt and Bill Elliott. Ray later joined Hendrick Motorsports, and in 1993 teamed with driver Jeff Gordon as crew chief for the Rainbow Warriors, leading a historic partnership that included three championships, 47 wins and two Daytona 500 victories. In 2000, Evernham took on the challenge of team ownership, teaming with Dodge to spearhead the unproven manufacturer’s successful re-entry into NASCAR. In 2006, the media voted Ray the greatest crew chief of all time.

Sheheen has been broadcasting a wide variety of motorsports, ranging from Swamp Buggies to Formula One, on national TV for 27 years. NASCAR has always been a large part of his broadcasting schedule, as he has covered all of the famed sanctioning bodies at one point along the way. One of his career highlights was being a part of the CBS Sports broadcast team that televised Dale Earnhardt Sr.’s Daytona 500 victory in 1998. Sheheen also is the owner of SPEED SPORT, a multi-layered media company that produces a diversified lineup of motorsports coverage. A native of Sacramento, Calif., he currently resides in Moorseville, N.C.

-NBC Sports Press Release. Photo Credit:


Series                                                  Track                                                                  Telecast Date      Time
Whelen Modified Tour                    Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park     Sat., April 17       12:30 a.m.
Whelen Modified Tour                    Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park    Thu., June 18       6 p.m.
Whelen Modified Tour                    Riverhead Raceway                                          Thu., July 2          7 p.m.
Whelen Modified Tour (All-Star) New Hampshire Motor Speedway               Thu., July 23        4 p.m.
Whelen Modified Tour                    New Hampshire Motor Speedway                Thu., July 23       6 p.m.
Whelen Modified Tour                    Monadnock Speedway                                     Thu., July 30      7 p.m.
Whelen So. Modified Tour             Bowman Gray Stadium                                    Fri., Aug. 7          2:30 p.m.
Whelen Mod-Whelen So. Mod     Bristol Motor Speedway                                   Fri., Aug. 28       7 p.m.
Whelen So. Modified Tour             Langley Speedway                                             Fri., Sept. 11        2:30 p.m.
Whelen So. Modified Tour             South Boston Speedway                                   Thu., Sept. 28     7 p.m.
Whelen Modified Tour                    New Hampshire Motor Speedway                Thu., Oct. 1          7 p.m.
Whelen Modified Tour                    Stafford Motor Speedway                                 Sat., Oct. 10        4 p.m.
Whelen So. Modified Tour             Charlotte Motor Speedway (.25-mile)          Thu., Oct 15        7 p.m.
Whelen Modified Tour                    Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park      Thu., Oct. 22      8 p.m.

NBC Sports Names Broadcasters For NWMT, NWSMT