The Midwest contingent has definitely turned in some impressive performances at New Smyrna Speedway (FL) during the 49th Annual World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.  On the other hand, some drivers and representatives of tours in that region have come close but have been absent from victory lane so far in 2015.


That all changed for Austin Nason on Friday night.  The Roscoe, Illinois driver rebounded from a left-side weight disqualification the previous night to claim the victory in the penultimate 35-lap Pro Late Model feature.


It would not come easy in another controversy filled race.  The event was slowed early when Nason’s fellow Big 8 Series competitor Tim Sargent found himself drilled into the outside frontstretch wall, which resulted in a short scuffle between crew members and drivers in the pit area.


From there, a long green flag period and fierce battle between 2014 division champion Spencer Davis and Nason became even more intense when the caution flew late in the feature.  On the restart, Nason would get the jump but Davis was in the gas quicker off the corner and got into the back of Nason’s black No. 14.  Officials ordered Davis to the rear and Nason would go on to secure the victory.


“We didn’t meet the rules (last night) and then Spencer Davis, we were racing, I got him on the start there and I don’t know if he just drove in too deep or what,” Nason said on the FansChoice.TV powered by broadcast. “I thought I was going to go to the back there, but they put us back to the front and I took the outside and now we go to tech from there.”


Unlike Thursday night, post-race technical inspection in Ricky Brooks’ “Room of Doom” worked out well on this night.


Previous PLM winners at the 49th Annual World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing, Derek Scott Jr. and Dalton Armstrong, followed Nason across the line.  Armstrong continues to lead Scott in the points by a slim margin heading into the final night of competition on Saturday.


Moff Powers from the Back to Second Straight Florida Modified Win


Pinellas Park, Florida’s Doug Moff finally survived the 35-lap distance for his first Florida Modifieds win of the 49th Annual World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.  On Friday night, he was fast qualifier and the car to beat once again.


An altercation with Tim Moore; however, sent Moff to the back of the field early on in the short 20-lap feature.  That would not stop him from methodically passing competitors and, with a little bit of luck, making his way to second when Alan Bruns brought out a late race caution.  On the restart, Moore and Moff were even but it was Moff who pulled ahead on the inside on his way to becoming the first repeat victor in the division.


“I had to go to the rear early, but I knew we had a good car,” an excited Moff said.  “I want to thank Progressive Racing Engines because this thing goes down the straightaway.”


Moore took second followed by Ricky Moxley.  Point leader heading in Kevyn Terry finished behind them in fourth, which tightens the championship race with Moore heading into the final night.


An on-demand video broadcast of Friday night’s action can be viewed on FansChoice.TV powered by  The on-demand video will be available at 8 a.m. ET on Saturday and can be viewed on FansChoice.TV.  A full lap-by-lap replay with photos and results can be seen anytime by visiting NASCAR Home Tracks Race Central Live powered by by clicking here.


-By Aaron Creed, Correspondent -Twitter: @Aaron_Creed

-Photo Credit:


Pro Late Model Official Finish – World Series Night #8

1 14 Austin Nason 35
2 01 Derek Scott, Jr. 35
3 4A Dalton Armstrong 35
4 136 Sheldon Creed 35
5 37 Larry Gelinas 35
6 44 Steve Laking 35
7 32 Sarah McKay 35
8 129 Spencer Davis 35
9 17G Grant Griesbach 35
10 1X Todd Stone 35
11 6W Matt Wallace 32
12 45 Jordan McCallum 31
13 36 Tyler Thomas 3
14 66 Blake Cejner 3
15 2 Tim Sargent 2
16 46 Ryan Miles 2
17 30 Fredrick Moore 2
18 85 Randy Anderson 2


Florida Modifieds Official Finish – World Series Night #8

1 46 Doug Moff 20
2 57 Tim Moore 20
3 38 Ricky Moxley 20
4 13 Kevyn Terry 20
5 78 Travis Eddy 20
6 4B Alan Bruns 15
7 15D Robert Deal 15
8 13x Ricky Anderson 4

Nason Bounces Back from DQ for First New Smyrna Win