Myrtle Beach Mainstay Closes Track With Sixth Championship

Sam Yarbrough entered Saturday night as a five-time track champion at Myrtle Beach Speedway (SC).  At the conclusion of the Sun Fun 101, he had one more track championship to his resume – as well as the distinction of winning the final Late Model Stock Car event at the historic track.


First built in 1958, Myrtle Beach Speedway hosted Late Model Stock Cars for the final time on Saturday night.  In fitting fashion, the track’s dominator over the past decade put on one final display, leading the charge throughout the feature race.


With inclement weather shortening the race to 72 laps, Yarbrough took the yellow and checkered flag ahead of Will Burns, who entered the night just two points behind Yarbrough in the title chase.


From the onset of the season, Yarbrough made it his goal to win the final track championship at Myrtle Beach.  With Saturday’s win, he accomplished that to secure a sixth track title.


“Mission accomplished,” Yarbrough told Speed51.  “That’s all we wanted.  We worked hard to get it.  Here we are.”


Yarbrough admitted there were some stressful moments during the 2020 season as he battled Burns for the championship.  Those feelings outweighed the emotion of the final race for the speedway.


“We’re just really excited.  There was a lot of stress, going back and forth with the 41, losing the points lead and getting it back.  Having a two point lead coming into here and knowing what we had to do and pull it off.”


Burns admitted in the minutes following his runner-up finish that it was starting to set in that he had competed at Myrtle Beach for the final time.  While his shot at a win ended with the premature conclusion to the race, he knew rain was in the area and the race could end at any moment.


“I’m just kind of sad,” said Burns.  “It just hit me, this is my last lap around this place.  A little upsetting the way it ended, with rain, but I’ve been on the other side of one of those deals and that’s racing.  We had all the information we needed.  We knew rain was coming and we just couldn’t quite get there.


“All in all, it’s been a good year.  It’s been a lot of fun.  Way too many second place finishes, but it’s tough racing against guys like Sam who have been racing here for years and know how to get around this place.”


Austin McDaniel finished third, with Jacob Heafner and Ryan Glenski rounding out the top five in the Sun Fun 101.


Myrtle Beach Speedway will open its gates one more time on Sunday, contesting feature races for divisions who were rained out on Saturday.  Racing will begin at 9:30 a.m. if the track is dry, or as soon as possible thereafter.


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51 Content Supervisor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: Speed51 Photo


Unofficial Results – Sun Fun 101 at Myrtle Beach Speedway


  1. Sam Yarbrough
  2. Will Burns
  3. Austin McDaniel
  4. Jacob Heafner
  5. Ryan Glenski
  6. Brian Vause
  7. Chris Throckmorton
  8. Bradley McCaskill
  9. Justin Johnson
  10. Austin Somero
  11. Justin Hicks
  12. Jeremy Burns
  13. Bobby June
  14. Gracie Trotter
  15. Isabella Robusto
  16. Brandon Rogers
  17. Stuart Ricks
  18. Paul Green
  19. Sam Butler
  20. Travis Truet
  21. Robbie Mew
  22. Justin Milliken
  23. RA Brown
  24. Rajah Carruth
  25. Whitney Meggs
  26. Perry Patino
  27. Jamie Weatherford
  28. Chase Janes
  29. Jason Tutterow
  30. Sammie Scarpelli
  31. Brandon Clements
  32. Jimmy Wallace
  33. Mitchell Walker
  34. Michael Faulk

Myrtle Beach Mainstay Closes Track With Sixth Championship